Nvidia FX 540 Pro Video edition or Matrox Parhelia HD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 29th, 2005, 08:04 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 92
Nvidia FX 540 Pro Video edition or Matrox Parhelia HD

Hello David,

I'm looking to get a video card for real time Premiere Pro/Cineform preview on an external HD monitor.

In your opinion, which of the two video cards that Cineform has certified, provides better performance -- The Nvidia FX 540 Pro Video edition or Matrox Parhelia HD?

-Geoff Murillo
Geoff Murillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2005, 08:33 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Preformance for Aspect HD = Matrox Parhelia HD, for most other things probably the Nvidia FX 540.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2005, 08:37 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 92
David,

Would the same be true for Prospect? -- I just got my Prospect Edit-Only disc a couple of days ago.

-Geoff
Geoff Murillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2005, 01:34 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Congratulations! Mary said you might be upgrading. Yes the same for Prospect HD, I prefer the Parhelia. On day we hope to have PCIe HDSDI card with analog outputs, until then the Parhelia is an excellent choice.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2005, 10:14 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 92
I cannot get the Overlay/Full-Screen Display to work

Hi David,

I got my Matrox Parhelia HD APVe and I've installed it. I'm using a second computer monitor for the full screen real-time viewing, but I cannot get it to display my Adobe/Cineform Prospect Tmeline.

It works fine with DV material, but I cannot get it to work with Premiere and Prospect. I've chosen the Export>Matrox WYSIWYG plug-in and I've set the source Aspect Ratio to 16:9 and the Preview Aspect Ratio to 4:3. I've also gone into the drop down from the Monitor window and selected "enable scrubbing to overlay surface." Unfortunately I've had no luck with my HD footage.

Is there something else I need to do?

I would be grateful for any advice.

Thanks,

Geoff Murillo
Geoff Murillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2005, 11:46 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Definitely put the question into tech support as we do have the Parhelia APVe working fine at the office. Unfortunately don't know the setup details. Once the settings are correct even media player will output HD.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2005, 12:23 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Glendale, CA
Posts: 92
I've got my External Real-Time Preview to work

Hi David,

I uninstalled and reinstalled the Matrox drivers and made some tweaks and I've got it working now.

The External Real-Time Preview with Premiere/Prospect is great!

I'm looking forward to cutting some test footage this weekend.

-Geoff
Geoff Murillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2005, 02:09 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Excellent! I like to hear when problems are solved. The Matrox Parhelia is a really good card.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2005, 11:34 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 76
I use the FX540 Pro with a second single head Nvidia card installed for a second computer monitor. I get excellent HD output to a Sony Bravia XBR26 LCD monitor BUT there is an annoying overlay jump at start and stop of playback which neither Nvidia nor Cineform have fixed. This only happens with AspectHD. If you play back with PP1.51 it does not jump.
__________________
Derek Antonio Serra
Indie Filmmaker
www.indv.co.za
Derek Serra is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network