Wierdness with PP2.0, Zoom, Color Correction at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 26th, 2006, 11:54 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Okemos, MI
Posts: 174
Wierdness with PP2.0, Zoom, Color Correction

I've just migrated to PP2.0 + Aspect HD 4.0 and find the Quick Color Correction effect to be very nice. However, when this effect is implement after a standard PP zoom (from the motion effect) the Cineform HD Export avi file has wild ripples (extreme combing, only smoother). If I do the same Quick Color Correction and use the Cineform PZR zoom, then everything is fine.

OK, so use the Cineform PZR zoom only, yes? The only problem is that it's very difficult to pan/move clips using this effect -- the built-in PP motion effect is much better and more intuitive. Is there a way to use the Cineform zoom and the PP motion together? Once PZR is selected it seems to lock out the use of PP motion. (Only the PP zoom seems to cause the problems, not the PP motion alone).

Or, failing that, is there an intuitive way to map the coordinates given by a PP move (centered at 720,540) to the Cineform PRZ coordinates (-640 -> 640, -360-> 360)?

P.S. Welcome back, David. Are you getting any sleep these days? ;-)

Last edited by Patricia Lamm; February 26th, 2006 at 12:45 PM.
Patricia Lamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2006, 12:08 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Thanks, not too not much sleep. :)

This ripple sounds like fields are been combined from an interlaced source. Yes our PZR is field-aware, but I would have thought PPro's would be also. I'll do a couple of tests. However I first need some info from you. I guessing this is 1080i footage (not CFxx) or 720p. Was your 60i footage encoded as interlace or progressive (get the properties of the source clip.) In properties you should see the line : "Uncompressed Video Format is 8-bit YUV422 progressive" (or no "progressive" for interlaced.) Which do you see?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2006, 12:13 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Okemos, MI
Posts: 174
It's 1080i. When I check the properties it says "Uncompressed Video Format is 8-bit YUV422". The source was captured in PP1.5 using Cineform HD capture, so I'm assuming that it's interlaced upper field.
Patricia Lamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 05:12 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
There does seem to be a PPro 2.0 bug (same does not occur with 1.5.1) so I looking into that and I have contacted Adobe. However there is a simple workaround; when using PPro's color corrector, add the Force Render filter after it. It seems added any CineForm filter will fix whatever the Adobe filter is doing wrong. ;)

Note: this issue doesn't happen when you use Aspect HD color correctors.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2006, 09:30 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Okemos, MI
Posts: 174
That's brilliant!! Thanks, it works great. I always wondered what I was supposed to do with "forced render". Any other great things that I should be doing with it?
Patricia Lamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2006, 09:51 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Glad I could help. This one had us scratching heads at CineForm and Adobe. We have confirmed that it happens in Adobe alone, but we will try and find an easier solution than force render. Still explorering.

Force Render is handy when you overload playback with 6-7+ layers of RT video and effects and you force a render to get smooth playback. Force Render doesn't modify the image in any way.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network