CineForm HD avi to H.264 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 7th, 2006, 01:09 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 258
CineForm HD avi to H.264

What is a good method for exporting or converting a CineForm HD avi to QuickTime H.264 on a PC? Can PPro 2 export to H.264? I tried converting a CineForm avi to H.264 using QuickTime Pro 7, but the generated video was blank, and I don't see the export option in PPro 2.

Best,
Christopher
Christopher Glaeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2006, 01:25 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It seems that QuickTime Pro 7 does use the standard interfaces (DirectShow or VfW) to decode CineForm AVIs. So you need to fine something QT supports. From Premiere export to a QT format then convert that with QTP7.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2006, 02:41 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman
It seems that QuickTime Pro 7 does use the standard interfaces
Found it! PPro 2 can export QT H.264 from a CineForm project. The "Compile Settings" button was greyed out and I thought I couldn't change any QT attributes, but all that was needed was to click on the "video" settings within the Export->Movie dialog box. Now, I'm testing various aspect ratios to get the correct aspect ratio.

Best,
Christopher
Christopher Glaeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2006, 09:55 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
Posts: 221
Christopher,

I do not have the H.264 option available. I do have H.261 and 263... Are you using the MPEG4 option?

Luis
Luis Otero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2006, 10:46 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis Otero
Christopher, I do not have the H.264 option available.
Have you installed QuickTime 7 Pro? I'm not certain, but I think you have to purchase QT Pro to get H.264. I think it was something like $29 for the upgrade to Pro.

Best,
Christopher
Christopher Glaeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 09:34 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
Posts: 221
Christopher,

After install QT 7 Pro now I got the option in Premiere.

Thanks!

Luis
Luis Otero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2006, 10:47 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luis Otero
Christopher, After install QT 7 Pro now I got the option in Premiere. Thanks!
Excellent. I'm slowing making my way through the settings for Canon XL H1 in 24F/30F HD mode, DV Rack, Ultra, Photoshop, After Effects, PPro 2, Aspect HD, and H.264. Although I'm able to burn DVDs and generate H.264 for the web, I'm still learning the options for the best workflow to create the best looking content. For example, the tailers on the QuickTime website include scrolling titles in H.264 videos that are perfect. Mine flicker, which means I'm not there yet.

Best,
Christopher
Christopher Glaeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2006, 01:51 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 1,095
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Glaeser
Excellent. I'm slowing making my way through the settings for Canon XL H1 in 24F/30F HD mode, DV Rack, Ultra, Photoshop, After Effects, PPro 2, Aspect HD, and H.264. Although I'm able to burn DVDs and generate H.264 for the web, I'm still learning the options for the best workflow to create the best looking content. For example, the tailers on the QuickTime website include scrolling titles in H.264 videos that are perfect. Mine flicker, which means I'm not there yet.

Best,
Christopher
Christopher please let us know how it goes. I for one am very interested the workflow that you come up with and how well it works.

Thanks
Chuck Spaulding is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network