Decklink cards and Cineform AHD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2006, 12:36 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,435
Decklink cards and Cineform AHD

(hoping that David Newman will answer)

Supposedly, capturing Component out of Sony HDV cams (FX1/Z1) eliminates MPEG compression artifacts.

1. From your experience, does capturing Component out of FX1/Z1 solve blockiness of the MPEG footage? How is it for compositing (green screen)?

2. Decklink HD card seems to be a capture solution du jour (after Component->HD-SDI conversion by AJA or DEcklink Multibridge). Can Decklink HD record in Cineform Aspect HD codec, or will the card have only Uncompressed option to save the footage?
Alex Raskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2006, 02:10 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
1) Yes the MPEG artifacts can be bypassed using the analog output of the Sony FX1/Z1 during acquistion. This would likely help green-screening but we haven't down those tests. We haven't focused on analog output of the Z1.

2) We don't directly support the BlackMagic cards. Something may be worked out using their DirectShow capture components with a Prospect HD encoder, however the Aspect HD encoder is limited to 1440x1080 so will need to scale the feed from the HDSDI. I don't believe the BM card has a hardware scaler. With Prospect HD the 1920x1080 image can be directly encoded. Prospect HD has direct integration with the AJA Xena line of HD-SDI cards.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2006, 01:11 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman
Prospect HD has direct integration with the AJA Xena line of HD-SDI cards.
Will Aspect HD work with the AJA Xena line of HD-SDI cards?

Best,
Christopher
Christopher Glaeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2006, 09:14 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Aspect HD doesn't support the Xena cards. We introducted Propect HD Edit to fill the product gap between a full Prospect HD and Aspect HD, the Edit version doesn't support HDSDI ingest but it supports all the HDSDI outputs on the Xena cards, including 1920x1080 10bit.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network