Laptop for Cineform at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2006, 09:54 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 547
Laptop for Cineform

I'm trying to figure out is if there are PC laptop solutions out there that will produce good performance with AspectHD. The performance specs on the Cineform site are primarily for desktop PCs, and the laptops have quite different CPUs, hard drives and memory configurations.

While I assume the new mobile dual core solutions are the best option, I was wondering if there were particular models or hard drive solutions that were recommended... Even better would be a laptop with an analog HD input so I could build an uncompressed/ProspectHD system... with my FX1, but I bet that's pushing it and would cost more than I'm willing to spend.

-Steve
Steven White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2006, 11:00 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The new dual core laptops are excellent, and will out perform many single core desktop P4/Althons. Disk speed is a your primary issue, fortunately there are integrators that build laptops with RAIDs -- look of one of those if you want to do a lot of multi-stream editing with a laptop.

As for component input to a laptop, when one exist we can't wait to enable that feature. Please keep an eye out for that tech.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2006, 11:29 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 547
Quote:
Disk speed is a your primary issue, fortunately there are integrators that build laptops with RAIDs
Ah... I suspected that disk speed would be the main problem. I haven't seen a laptop with a RAID drive (0 or otherwise)... any specific companies you can think of?

-Steve
Steven White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2006, 11:41 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
1Beyond, BOXX, Alienware all had RAID 0 laptops for post-production.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 09:44 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
How about to add Xena card for laptop with ExpressCard to PCI Expansion kit:
http://www.mobl.com/expansion/produc...ion/index.html

David, ExpressCard with HDSDI input exist?
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 10:07 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serge Victorovich
ExpressCard with HDSDI input exist?
Not that I know of, but we want one.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 10:25 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
What min. dual core cpu need to ingest 720p24 8bit? Using Prospect HD i can
choose between 8 or 10 bit ?
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 10:30 AM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, Prospect HD is user controllable for 8 and 10bit captures.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 12:00 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serge Victorovich
What min. dual core cpu need to ingest 720p24 8bit? Using Prospect HD i can
choose between 8 or 10 bit ?
Serge,

If you're using the multithreaded DirectShow encoder (ie ProspectHD, or your own DirectShow-based capture tool talking to CineForm Encoder-2), I reckon that even the lowliest 1.66GHz Core Duo should be able to handle 720p at 24fps.

I'm looking for a rock solid 720p/60 laptop capture platform, but I'm fairly sure I'll have to wait until the 2.3GHz Core Duo makes an appearance.

Last edited by Richard Leadbetter; March 30th, 2006 at 09:32 AM.
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 12:06 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serge Victorovich
How about to add Xena card for laptop with ExpressCard to PCI Expansion kit:
http://www.mobl.com/expansion/produc...ion/index.html

David, ExpressCard with HDSDI input exist?
Yes this set-up looks intriguing, but Magma are not a very communicative company and I've had no information from them about this when this product might appear.

If the Xena HL works OK on a 32-bit/33MHz PCI slot, surely it would also work OK on the CardBus to PCI product which is available now? 720p/24 at 4:4:4 should be attainable assuming that CardBus has the same level of bandwidth as a normal PCI slot.
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2006, 02:58 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
Richard, thank you very much for explaining.
Your information about CPU's benchmarks very useful.
This info was a Top Secret of Cineform:)
Now i wish less expensive than PHD a 8 bit only codec for ingesting video.
And i prefer Vegas+DeckLink and CPU Intel over PPro+Xena with AMD Opteron;)
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2006, 10:17 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Can your Decklink card work with VirtualDub? This page seems to indicate it would work as Decklink has what looks like a WDM driver.

If so, and if you are going to work at 720p/24, I'd seriously consider AspectHD's VFW codec as your 8-bit capture solution. The new 4.0 upgrade gives you access to the high quality setting within the VFW environment, and allows you to switch between interlaced and progressive encoding.

IMHO it's worth the $499 on its own, and I think it's the unsung hero of the Aspect 4.0 upgrade vs 3.4.

There's a strong chance that the top-end single core Pentium M would be fast enough to capture at 24fps too, which may be the preferable solution as the VFW codec is single-threaded so your dual core chip would only yield dividends in the editing environment.
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2006, 05:26 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
HD Portable Laptop station

HD Portable Laptop station
http://www.kinor.ru/products/diskvtr/hdnb/
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2006, 09:17 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
While we're back on the subject of laptops I've been using a Sony AR190 laptop for a few weeks.

It's configured as

T2600 CPU (2.16GHz Core Duo)
2GB RAM
200GB RAID 0 (dual 5400 rpm laptop drives)
WUXGA (1920 x 1200) display

This is the first time I've been able to comfortably edit two 1920 x 1080 streams plus a transition, title, and color correction on a laptop without dropping a frame. It's the combination of the T2600 for horsepower plus the RAID 0 drive config which allows feeding of the two streams simultaneously. Nice, very nice. For those that need an awesome editing laptop on the road the AR190 is awesome. (I think the AR170 is virtually the same).

The new Intel Merom processors around the corner turn up the clocks speed and memory performance another notch, so I think we'll begin to see a new class of laptops capable of this performance.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2006, 08:05 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
ESata

Steve/Everyone,

I now use an external eSata solution from Thecus:

http://tomshardware.co.uk/2006/04/17...al_storage_uk/

I configured two 250Gig Sata disks in RAID 0 for 500Gigs (there is a small RAID0/RAID1 switch on the back -everything else is automatigically configured).

Here are the transfer speeds:

http://tomshardware.co.uk/2006/04/17..._uk/page9.html

-plenty fast enough for HD.

-I use USB2 at present in my laptop while away and at home on the PC. When I upgrade to eSata PC motherboard I can plug it into that and double the speed...


Nick.

P.S. I don't work for Thecus I just think it's a great product!
Nick Outram is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network