Best Playback Codec? for Cineform AVI's at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 6th, 2006, 04:07 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 27
Best Playback Codec? for Cineform AVI's

as the title suggests, was wondering which codec people have found
as the best for play back on the exported AVI's i need to run these
from a laptop for a presentation

thanks
Ben Mclaughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 08:02 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I have an AVel Linkplayer so I often export to Windows Media 9. I do that at 8Mbps which is generally too fast to be played back on a PC. So I generally export a second copy at around 5Mbps. The lower data rate is fine for most laptops. You may have to go even lower if you want to play off of the DVD-ROM or CD-ROM.

Try one at 5Mbps and see how your particular laptop performs.

Also, if you are presenting at 1280X1024 or even less, you will want to consider reducing your frame size at export to something that will play on the screen without being shown at less than 100%. Why waste the data being pulled off of the hard drive to just compress it later.

Even though I shoot 1080i I usually export to 720p.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 09:49 AM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
If use the CineForm AVI, the CFDecoder2.ax component (store in Program Files/Common/CineForm/) is all you need for playback on another PC. Even simpler is to install the Connect HD trail on your laptop to enable the playback. The playback functions do not expire with the trial.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 09:56 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
But isn't trying to play the Cineform AVI at full quality a bit stressful on a PC?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 10:22 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is less stressful than WM9, particularly if you export as 1280x720p24/30 then it is great for laptop HD presentation. But pixel for pixel a CineForm AVI is easier to decode at any resolution, if you can accept the increased disk requirements -- the real advantage of WM9 is the size.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 05:03 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Cool. I will give it a test drive when I get a chance. Any particular player you recommend?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 07:05 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burnaby & Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 282
Indeed, in my opinion, playing Cineform AVIs from a PC is one of the best ways to present HD material at this time, specifically in "ordinary" settings like schools, offices, homes, etc., where they are unlikely to have HDCAM or other pro HD gear.
__________________
Earl R. Thurston
Director of Digital Media Services
Stargate Connections Inc.
Made with GY-HD100: The Container Adventures: The Rescue
Earl Thurston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 07:59 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 27
thanks guys for the info will use connect HD , as steven has said any particular player? currently im exporting at 1440 x 1080 and playback has
resulted in a bit of artifacts is this typical?,

this is on a dual core running @ 3.4, 2 gig ram, off a sata raid 0
Ben Mclaughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 08:03 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 27
ok probably a silly question but if im exporting at 720p i dont have to
deinterlace my footage yeah?
Ben Mclaughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2006, 10:54 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You shouldn't be getting any artifacts, but to guarantee a great looking images you can always set the codec to Large/High for you master output. As for 1080i to 720p, you still need to de-interlace to make a good looking 720p.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2006, 06:08 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 27
thanks David
Ben Mclaughlin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network