Rendering time to Cineform intermediate? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2006, 08:40 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 138
Rendering time to Cineform intermediate?

I have a fairly straightforward project, with a mask track and two source tracks, all in HDV format.

I am rendering to Cineform HDV intermediate - however, it seems to be taking over one hour to render 6 minutes of video.

Is this normal? What are typical HDV -> Cineform intermediate render times?
Gian Pablo Villamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2006, 09:06 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
It is very difficult to answer that question because some effects take a long time to render and some do not. Did you use the Cineform effects where available? That makes it faster I believe.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 09:00 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Surely the editing system's CPU, memory and hard disk configuration would also have an impact on the time an export will take?
__________________
Company Website: Digital Foundry Ltd
Video Games HD Blog: Digital Foundry@Eurogamer
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 09:38 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Sure. That makes a huge difference as well.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 10:21 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Typically we are one of the faster formats to export to, so the sounds like a old system or some heavy effects on that timeline.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 10:22 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 138
Well, I'm using AMD Athlon 64 X2 (4400), on a system with 2GB RAM and 2 SATA II drives internally. Generally, rendering to MPEG2 from HDV on this system is usually about 4x playtime of the final video.

What should a straight-across transcode of HDV to Cineform take (roughly)?
Gian Pablo Villamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 10:26 AM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gian Pablo Villamil
What should a straight-across transcode of HDV to Cineform take (roughly)?
Using HDLink to do the conversion on a PC like yours, near 1:1 real-time. We have a very fast encoder (threaded for as many cores available.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 10:42 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I have a much slower system. Only 3.06GHz with 1.5G RAM.

I created a new project and put a few Cineform AVIs on the sequence in Premiere Pro 2.0 with the latest Aspect HD (not the beta) totalling 2 minutes. (00;02;00;03 drop frame)

I didn't add it to the project, and I didn't embed the project. I did export the audio. There were no transitions or any effects applied at all, so no red line to eliminate with a render.

I used the Cineform HD Export and unchecked Recompress. I did not Optimize Stills.

3600 frames rendered out to a new movie in 6:18 - or a little over 3X realtime. Not too shabby. Although I have to wonder what is happening other than just stitching the clips together? Why not a lot closer to realtime?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2006, 06:30 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 138
Yep, my results are comparable. A much simpler 50 second clip, with only a crop operation applied, took 3 minutes to render.
Gian Pablo Villamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2006, 05:17 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Texas
Posts: 23
long rendering times

This maybe a shot in the dark, but...When you render, did you accidentally uncheck the render loop region only box? I've done that before and which resulted in long render times. I have a 3ghz/1gb RAM/dedicated video drive machine and it takes 5-6x realtime for render. The only effect I have used that takes so long is Magic Bullet.
Michael May is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network