Thank you Cineform at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 28th, 2005, 02:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 76
Thanks Cineform

Just a word of thanks to Cineform for refunding me the difference of $ 100 between what I paid for AspectHD at the full price, and the special offer price they announced a few days after my purchase. Instead of an irate customer they now have a happy customer. Oh, if all businesses cared so much...
__________________
Derek Antonio Serra
Indie Filmmaker
www.indv.co.za
Derek Serra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2005, 11:31 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 5
special offer

What is the special offer that Cineform announced? I couldn't find anything about a special offer on their website.
Grant Gillum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2006, 06:37 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 1,414
Thank you Cineform

Gotta hand it to you guys, nothing like a small company that's cutting edge! Not only do I have(thanks to you) a SLICK 2k edit system but now having the hvx your support for the p2 convert/downsize and 180flip is ...SICK....I mean when do you see a company like ADOBE get off the shit pot and RESPOND to what users want under 1-2 years? no, I did not say hours, days or weeks, not even months..but sometimes YEARS...

I guess it takes the few and the small who "get it" to step up to the plate.

BTW the HVX may not be a Silicon Imaging camera, but it sure can perform with the redrock35 on it! I will post some cineform video when we get more shot.
Obin Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2006, 06:47 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Obin, Thanks. Looking forward to the vid.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 04:17 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Thanks for the updates for ConnectHD

Appreciate the 10bit color depth and 16bit rendering option. Just make it easier to bring in AE output to Vegas.

Thanks
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 04:20 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That option is within Prospect HD Ingest, Edit or the Codecs pack, not within Connect HD directly (which is still an 8-bit application.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 08:25 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Hmm, so connect didn't get 10bit color space. Sorry for the mixup. Been that kind of day.
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2006, 08:37 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
You posted this over at Sony...
but we are making this option is available though Prospect HD Codecs Pack ($799) for those doing high-end work in Vegas and for 16-bit+ compositing within AE Pro.

I couldn't find that at the Cineform site. Does that option give Vegas the option to maintain 10bit color space for imported files via Cineform ..(even though output is 8bit).
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2006, 12:19 AM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We haven't made the online order option public yet, but we do sell this package. Prospect HD Codecs and like a 10-bit versioon of Connect HD with 16 & 32-bit AE Pro support -- I just wanted to make it clear that isn't part of the entry level Connect HD product. The codecs pack will get a bigger boast once the Mac version become available.

10-bit data created outside of Vegas will be dithered to 8-bit for Vegas decodes, giving the best gradients (i.e. smooth) Vegas can support. As codec like 99% of other video compressors (HDCAM, DVCPRO-HD, Avid DNxHD, Conpus WQ, HDV, etc.) is YUV based, 8-bit RGB to 8-bit YUV conversion is a lossy transform, yet 8-RGB to 10-bit YUV is not (it is mathematically reservable.) But offering a 10-bit internal representation, even for 8-bit RGB sources you get a significant boost in color precision. We did this across the whole Prospect HD product line.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2006, 12:20 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Thanks for explaining that. Since I also have AE 7 Pro and some 3d apps that will render out to any legal codec installed, the 10bit codec option sounds like a good deal for compositing. I know it's not raw, but still better than 8bit.
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2006, 06:59 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Joe, our 10-bit codecs pack is available, but with the AVI version you needed to use PremPro or AE to use 10-bits because we wrote custom importers/exporters to exploit that. We now have beta 10-bit QuickTime support (Windows only now) available too. We have verified that Combustion uses 10-bit CineForm files but we haven't tested extensively with other apps yet. If you have some preferred Windows apps that support 10-bit QT then I can make a Trial of the codec available for you to experiment with.

Our experience is that to take advantage of 10-bits using our QT wrapper we often have to "force" the app to support 10 bit through a simple configuration file. This config file is fairly simple, and is not nearly as comprehensive as doing an importer or exporter, but the app needs to be told to ask for 10 bits. This simply means that if you have a 10-bit capable QT app we may need to use similar logic to force it to see our 10-bit files. Otherwise it will see them as 8-bit files.

PM me separately if you'd like to evaluate.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2007, 01:13 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: monroe, or
Posts: 572
Thanks to Support

A failed system drive... you know the story. No deactivation... and a failed reactivation.

Yet, within hours... on a holiday no less, I receive a response to my ticket and I am back in the saddle.

Thanks Cineform Support.
Marty Baggen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network