Black blink using Parhelia APVe at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2006, 10:30 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 331
Black blink using Parhelia APVe

I'm using Matrox Parhelia APVe with a 3,2 GHz P4/2GB RAM/S-ATA RAID 0. Everytime I start or stop in Premiere Pro using Aspect HD i get a black "blink". It's extremely annoying. It's like going blind for a sec when you're editing. Even the source window in PPRO 2.0 goes blac for a sec. I don't get it in regular DV projects and I get it in several monitor configurations. Both all DVI and combos of DVI and component and Y/C. I've tried every combo of preference setting I can come up with whitout success.

Can't find anything about the problem anywhere on the internet so I suspect it's my system.
__________________
Martin Munthe
VFX Supervisor/DP/Director
Martin Munthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2006, 10:51 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The faster the system the shorter the blink, and it is shorter on the Parhelia then other cards. If you are in 1080i try turn de-interlace while scrubbing on, and preview mode on. If you are using 720p turn de-interlace while scrubbing off and turn the preview playback mode off. This will be fastest the graphics card overlay to fresh. In the next Aspect HD release (4.1.2?) you may find this improved (particularly for stopping.) If you want the prefect solution an AJA Xena LH/e with Prospect HD Edit is they way to go -- that is an more expensive, with other advantage (not just the smoothest playback.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2006, 03:54 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
David:
Will the "pause" be shorter in nVidia based cards as well?

Note in swedish to Martin:

(Tja Martin, problemet finns "nog" på alla grafikkort, bättre på vissa... GRYMT irriterande är det iaf...)

/Max H.
Lrtv
__________________
Max H
Max Hagelstam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2006, 04:13 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
NVidia cards are worse (on the components outputs) taking longer to refresh -- we discussed this will NVidia but there in no simple solution. We mostly recommend the Parhelia AVPe for those that don't have the budget for an AJA Xena LH/e.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network