ONly imports a fraction of total material at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 5th, 2006, 03:03 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
ONly imports a fraction of total material

After importing an entire tape of footage in AspectHD demo and waiting 2 and a half hours to encode it, Premiere only recognizes the first seven and a half minutes of footage. It's as if the other 53 minutes were never recorded. What's going on? Is this a demo limitation?
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2006, 04:05 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Winter
Is this a demo limitation?
No, I don't think so, and it shouldn't take 2.5 hours to capture a tape. How did you do the capture? Did you use HDLink or Premiere? If you did not use HDLink, then try capturing the tape again using HDLink.

Best,
Christopher
Christopher Glaeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2006, 11:22 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
I should add that the .avi file shows a duration of 59 minutes. The entire tape was correctly imported, but Premiere shows the file as only 7 minutes long.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 03:32 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 90
Workaround

Hi Ben,

I know it's not a solution but I always break up my imports into 5-10 minute manageable chunks. I just don't trust working with files over a certain size.


Nick.
Nick Outram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 09:16 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Outram
I always break up my imports
Same here. Try using HDLink with scene detection and see if that fixes the problem.

Best,
Christopher
Christopher Glaeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 02:19 PM   #6
Sponsor: CineForm
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cardiff-By-The-Sea, CA
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Winter
I should add that the .avi file shows a duration of 59 minutes. The entire tape was correctly imported, but Premiere shows the file as only 7 minutes long.
What is the framerate of the file within Premiere? Also, does that 7 minutes play normally? or is it the entire 59 minutes sped up? or something else?
__________________
Jake Segraves
Technical Support Manager | GoPro...Be a HERO.
Jake Segraves is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network