Will Cineform go 50i to 25p? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 19th, 2006, 07:57 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 513
Will Cineform go 50i to 25p?

Hi there,

Shooting with a Z1U.

Just wondering if Cineform will take 1080 50i footage and de-interlace to 25p without using Cineframe.

If so, how would I accomplish this? I've looked at HD Link and can't seem to figure it out.

I read somewhere that because you're shooting fewer fields/frames, there is less compression, so you end up with better looking footage.

Also, once I get it to 25p, what's the best process to create a NTSC progressive frame DVD?

Thanks,

Jim
James Huenergardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 19th, 2006, 10:10 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Easy -- select "De-interlace 1080i sources" from the Prefs panel within HDLink.exe. 50i will become 25p during capture or files conversions. Now if you want to go out NTSC progressive you going to have to convert to 23.976p, which HDLink will do for you (in one pass if you like.) In the "Rate Change" field select "25p to 23.976p (-4.1%)". When you capture your 50i will be converted to 25p and then automatically convert to 23.976 with the audio to match. You can also do you edit at 25p, master out to 25p HD then convert that to PAL or NTSC with the desired frame rate using HDlink again. Its pretty flexible.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 06:55 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 695
This way also 1080i from Z1 can be converted to 720P HD100 and the other way around? This would be great, because I have an upcoming projectwere I will have to hire extra people which have Sony HDV camera's instead of my JVC HD100. Then I could convert to 720p before editing in PPRo 2.0
Marc Colemont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 09:11 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, and that will work very well.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network