NTSC 4x3 Centered Changed in 4.2.4? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2006, 08:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Becker, MN USA
Posts: 60
NTSC 4x3 Centered Changed in 4.2.4?

I've been using HDLink very successfully for creating a 4x3 video file suitable for output to DVD. I'm not certain in which version it happened, but HDLink is now creating a letterboxed format, 720x486 with the top/bottom squeezed down to 16x9. I've tried it three times with the same result. Anyone else using this feature?

Thanks,
Wayne
Wayne Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 09:11 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I just installed Aspect HD 4.2.4 and that feature is working fine for me. Are you mixing the resize to "NTSC 4x3 centered" with any other operation?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2006, 10:42 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Becker, MN USA
Posts: 60
My bad, I think. The error occurred after switching to PPro 2.0. I have another .M2T file from 1.51 that's AOK. I'll experiment with the 2.0 export settings.

Thanks,
Wayne
Wayne Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 07:36 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Becker, MN USA
Posts: 60
Funniest thing. Re-installed everything (1.51 and 2.0) per your instructions, and HDLink worked correctly -- once. Now it's back to outputting 16x9! I give up. Let me know if you want sample M2T and AVI files.
Wayne
Wayne Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 07:57 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Please tell me how to make it fail, as it is working here (and for others?)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 09:04 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Well, I was all set to try it out and I can't export a thing. Crashes the app every time. Build 72. I have no idea why. I have never used this part of HDLink before.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 08:43 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Becker, MN USA
Posts: 60
I've sent in a trouble ticket with M2T and AVI files. Note that this only happened when I added PPro 2.0 to my 1.51 system. The trouble ticket has more detail. I haven't encountered the problem that Steve reports.
Wayne Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 10:28 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
OK, I found my problem. I submitted a trouble ticket. I can export to a 4X3 centered file just fine. But the camera must be plugged in and turned on or the program crashes. Very odd since the camera should not have anything to do with exporting to a file.

Once I set the prefs to 4X3 centered, it stays that way until changed.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 10:39 AM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Steve, I doubt that cause as most of my testing doesn't have a camera connected.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 11:14 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Well, I understand. But I also understand what I need to do to make it work. It isn't exactly an onerous workaround. It could be video drivers. It could be something really unusual.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network