Capture in Cineform, Edit in DV, Online in Cineform at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2007, 11:04 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 513
Capture in Cineform, Edit in DV, Online in Cineform

Hi,

I have a project that's 80% greenscreen, so I want to take advantage of the Cineform codec and HDV in After Effects. I ran some tests, and I think the Cineform/HDV renders to SD look better than DV renders.

What I want to do is edit in Premiere Pro using SD DV footage, then, when my show is locked down, bring the project into AE using my Cineform footage so I can key using Cineform.

I'll then render out/online in Cineform 1080i and use HD Link to down-res to SD for DVD.

Is there an easy way to do this?

I was thinking since I already have the Cineform 1080i files captured, use HD Link to batch down-res to DV WS 1.2 PAR, bring those into Premiere Pro 2, edit, then export the EDL, import into my Cineform PP2 project, import that project into AE.

Thanks,

Jim
James Huenergardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 11:18 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
James,

If you have Aspect HD, it is just as easy to edit that as it is DV. So why not just edit it all Cineform and be done with it?
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2007, 11:22 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 513
Well, it's not as 'snappy' as editing simple DV. I have a fast machine, a Dual AMD 246 with 4 gigs of RAM and 2 250 GIG HDs striped together for video and a separate boot and media drive for projects, all of which were just defraged using Diskeeper.

In a DV timeline, I can hit the spacebar, and it plays audio, etc. flawlessly. No waiting, no glitches.

In a Aspect HD/Cineform timeline, I hit the spacebar, and it takes a second or two before the audio isn't glitching and everything is smooth.

Maybe there is something wrong with my setup, but in DV, it's instant, and I can edit much easier that way.

Any suggestions?
James Huenergardt is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network