HDLink hangs constantly at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2007, 01:45 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4
HDLink hangs constantly

I'm using the AspectHD trial/demo with an E6600 core 2 duo machine (2 Gigs of ram, 4 sata hard-drives in a RAID 0, PPRO 2). I've been editing HDV (off of my HDR-HC1) for months on this machine and have had 0 problems (other than long render times with any color correction, as one would expect).

Using the AspectHD trial, I have been unable to capture an entire tape directly to CFHD either in PPRO2 or in HDLink (1080 60i and 720 30p had the same result). Roughly half-way through I start getting data corruption (http://picasaweb.google.com/iraxef/A...y=H7PmnX7RoyQ). Finally, I decided to capture to PPRO2's native HDV format for my camera (1440x1080 60i), within PPRO2. This resulted in a corruption-free hour-long file. I then tried convert this file to 1280x720 30p with HDLink (medium). It works perfectly once out of every 4-5 times or so. The other times I find HDLink frozen at some point in the conversion (cpu usage drops to 0 and trying to click on anything in the HDLink window results in a "Not Responding" popping up in the title bar). It's never crashed...it just freezes.

Am I doing anything wrong? My trial is about to run out and I am interested in getting the full version, but not if I can't get these issues sorted out.

Thank you very much.
Michael Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 01:54 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You should file a trouble ticket (www.cineform.com/support.) Support will need information on you PC and camera, as 720p30 is one of the easiest HDV modes -- issues like this shouldn't occurring even on older PC hardware.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 02:36 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4
#611-4126647.

Thank you very much for the quick reply!
Michael Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2007, 08:21 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 95
Using the AspectHD trial, I have been unable to capture an entire tape directly to ...............a "Not Responding" popping up in the title bar). It's never crashed...it just freezes.

[/QUOTE]

Hey Michael,

Did you work this one out?

I think I have the same problem.

Cheers.
__________________
Robert Garvey Photographer
www.garvey.com.au
Robert Garvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2007, 07:54 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4
Robert,

I am currently working with Cineform support, who are being very thorough and helpful, but we have not figured this one out yet.

Michael
Michael Rubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2007, 07:00 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Becker, MN USA
Posts: 60
When I reported this problem many, many months ago, I was told I was the only one that had it. I discovered on my own that I could only get through a large m2t file by disabling all services and startups other than Microsoft's on my XP system (using run msconfig). Subsequent versions of HDLink exhibited this behavior less frequently to the point where now, running under Vista on the same machine, I no longer bother to disable startup services. I also use HDVSplit, so it is easy to restart HDLink where it hung.

These observations may help you until your support ticket bears fruit.
Wayne Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 05:42 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 54
Recently I've also encountered this problem. I captured 5 tapes using HDVSplit and then converted m2t -files to avi's using HDLink. HDLink did freeze constantly after converting a few dozen clips (I had several in multiple directories, max was 500+). Biggest clip was 2 gig as m2t, average was around 200 MB.

I was forced to kill the app (HDLink) from XP (close -> end task) and when restarted it continued converting again up until next freeze. Disabling virus check and/or firewall did not help. Or rebooting the computer.

My setup is AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ and 2 GB RAM. Plenty of disk available (300 gig partition, which still had 50 gig available after conversions).
Matti Remonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 07:30 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Becker, MN USA
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matti Remonen View Post
Recently I've also encountered this problem. I captured 5 tapes using HDVSplit and then converted m2t -files to avi's using HDLink. HDLink did freeze constantly after converting a few dozen clips (I had several in multiple directories, max was 500+). Biggest clip was 2 gig as m2t, average was around 200 MB.

I was forced to kill the app (HDLink) from XP (close -> end task) and when restarted it continued converting again up until next freeze. Disabling virus check and/or firewall did not help. Or rebooting the computer.

My setup is AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ and 2 GB RAM. Plenty of disk available (300 gig partition, which still had 50 gig available after conversions).
Did you try disabling startup and non-Microsoft services via MSCONFIG?
Wayne Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 01:17 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 54
Nope. This is probably the next step but in general an app should work w/o extensive tweaking of the computer. Especially when I'm doing asynchronous convert where HDLink does not need to keep up with data transfer speed as it is when transferring & converting simultaneously.
Matti Remonen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network