Color changes during preview at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2007, 04:37 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Color changes during preview

When I use Cineform under PPro 2, and do a preview, the color changes slightly in the program window. It looks nice when it's still but when I play it, the black level rises and it starts looking washed out.

Anyone else having this problem or know of a solution?

Is it an overlay issue?

Thanks,

stacy
Stacy Rothwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2007, 04:53 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is explained in the readme. The many graphic card drivers don't do YUV to RGB conversions correctly. ATI gets it right with the overlay on and wrong with it off, NVidia the other way around, Matrox (who's customers are video professionals) get it right in both modes.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2007, 08:36 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
David,

In the README, it only says what to do with an nvidia card not an ATI card. My laptop has an ATI Mobiliy X700.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks
Stacy Rothwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2007, 10:34 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Read my reply above, it is all related. NVidia was the worse offender, but ATI has messed up also. Try turning the overlay on.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2007, 10:39 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
David,

I'm sorry but I have looked everywhere and cannot see where to turn overlay on in ATI drivers.

Stacy
Stacy Rothwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 12:20 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
sorry, no, within the Aspect HD playback settings.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 01:49 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
David,

Haven't had a chance to do the change with the ATI card yet, but I followed the instructions in the readme file regarding my desktop with an nvidia card.

All that resulted was that the scrubbed/still image looked more contrasty than normal and when I hit PLAY, that contrasty image did the same thing --- black level rose and color shifted.

I tried it both with USE OVERLAY on and off in the Project/Playback settings.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Stacy
Stacy Rothwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2007, 02:08 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You have control over those levels with the NVidia overlay panel, adjust until the picture is to your satisfaction (you can adjust while Premiere is running -- much faster than restarting PPro.) Some gfx cards models are worse than others and more tweaking. Normally NVidia is fine with the overlay off (it is on all our cards.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2007, 03:02 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Interestingly enough, this happens to me too, but very rarely--often I just need to restart the playback and it corrects itself. This is with a Parhelia APVe. I initially thought of describing it as an increase in contrast but the black level rising is closer to the truth.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2007, 03:13 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
At least on my system (a Nvidia 7600GS card under XP) the advice in Cineform's Readme file hasn't worked since I updated from the 8x Forceware drivers to the 9x drivers.

The 9x drivers introduced a "new look" Control Panel option. The "old look" panel is still there .... but I can't get the overlay settings to function. YMMV.

With the new look Nvidia panel the tweaks you need are under "Video and Television" and then under the "Video color settings". Instead of the default settings being 100, they now seem to be +50 or thereabouts .... so the values of 109, 112 and 101 in the Cineform readme no longer apply.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2007, 01:09 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
So.... which image is correct? The still frame or the footage while being played back?

I have an Nvidia 7800GS, and have a nicely graded frame sitting there infront of me, but when I play the footage, it's suddenly a lot brighter.

Will Cineform will be putting out a new readme for the new Control Panels on the latest NVidia drivers?

I have a Dell 30" LCD and use Colorvision Spyder to calibrate it - so tweaking the hell out of the Nvidia settings seems a bit pointless, as the Spyder should have already sorted my settings out. I just need to fix the discrepancy between the still frame and the playback.
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2007, 05:01 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
Have managed to make scrub and playback image almost identical.

First things first, Cineform Playback Settings (Premiere Pro->Project->Project Settings->General->Playback Settings) are set to:

ON - Enable overlay surface
OFF - Deinterlace video while scrubbing (as I want to see combing and then the result of my deinterlacing)
ON - Use HD Colorspace
ON - Use video systems RGB
ON - Disable preview mode playback
max - Memory size

NVIDIA Control Panel - I switched to old view (View->Switch to the Classic).

Color Correction:
Desktop 100 Bright, 100 Contrast, 1 Gamma
Overlay - 109 Brightness, 112 Contrast (as per Cineform Readme!)

Video Overlay Settings:
Saturation - 101

And the scrub and playback image are now as good as identical. Major confusion for me was the 'Enable Overlay Surface' setting above - the description seems slightly wrong - it's the overlay on my main screen, not an external monitor (and the above NVidia Overlay settings only works for me when it's set to ON).

Anyway - if other people are having these problems you could try setting the Enable Overlay Surface, then perform the tweaks suggested in the Aspect Readme.

Cheers, Doug.
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 03:35 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 30
I am having a huge color shift problem when I go to scrub. I have tried the overlay on and off and I still get a huge shift, wat too bright and way too blue. I am not sure if it a color space issue or if my SpyderPro screen calibration is being lost. Any thoughts?
Tim Homola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2007, 12:58 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
Scrubbed for me looks the same as a still frame. The played timeline looks different.

Make sure you're using overlay (set the Cineform Playback Settings for this) - and then open up your NVidia control panel and tweak it - at the same time, scub and play your premiere output.

I'm not sure how the Spyder works with overlay - but basically I try to tweak my NVidia overlay settings so the played footage looks the same as the still shot.

Before I altered my settings, the played footage was appreciably lighter than the still shot.
__________________
Doug Turner
http://therunsmovie.com
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2007, 08:07 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 30
Douglas, thanks but I have the ATI card. I have tried both overlay in Aspect and in the Control Center software and cannot solve it yet. :(
Tim Homola is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network