Capture problems at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 29th, 2007, 04:14 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Capture problems

I have updated my Cineform Aspect to 4.3.1 build 76.

When I:

1. Automatically convert to Cioneform Intermediate AVI or
2. Convert to Cineform Intermediate and keep the m2t file

both the AVI and the 2mt files are "chocking" and pixelating

If I choose:

3. Capture only the m2t file, the capture is fine.

Whats wrong?
Alexander Kristiansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2007, 05:42 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
This is either a sign that you computer is way too slow (do they exist anymore?), or your firewire card/port is bad -- here is why. When you use the RT conversion more CPU is being used, if you system has hardware flaw such that it drops firewire packets the MPEG stream with be corrupted before it can be decoded. You can test this by doing an M2T only capture and running something that uses 100% of the CPU. Good firewire should not drop packets. Audio ports on audio cards aren't often that great.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 01:48 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 17
Ok, but...

I'll check some more, but neither solutions seems probable, since mye computer is not slow, I have captured perfectly with previous versions of Cineform with the same computer and m2t-capture only works without a single problem.

I only have problems when converting to Cineform AVI.
Alexander Kristiansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 09:44 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Try a difficult firewire card. It is the answer in 99% of cases when the computer is fast.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2007, 02:49 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
It could be that your video drive needs a good defrag as well.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network