Cineform shutdown puzzle at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 25th, 2007, 09:44 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Cineform shutdown puzzle

I have a Windows machine running PPRO 1.5.1 (with the free Cineform update from Adobe). Two days ago I loaded the Aspect trial. Tonight I tried exporting a Cineform avi file - no luck, PPRO tells me I have to upgrade to 1.5.1.

Something even more weird. I tried copying a Cineform AVI file rendered out from a different computer to this particular computer. A few seconds after I connected the hard drive containing the file and opened Explorer to see the content, the screen went blank, then blue and a Windows Explorer error message came up after the Explorer window dissapeared. I tested the hard drive on several other PCs, no problem observed. The few seconds window was enough to delete the file, after which I was able to access the content of the hard drive with no further problems.

Cineform files residing on the computer that were playing fine before, now kill Media Player Classic, Virtualdub and who knows what else...

Any idea what is happening? Is there a conflict between the free Adobe update and Aspect?

Thanks,
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2007, 10:32 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The Adobe 1.5.1 release can produce bad interlaced AVIs. You might need to reinstall 1.5.1 and then Aspect HD 4.x or 5.x (out in May.) Plus consider the upgrade to CS3. As for that upgrade message, I'm not sure if that is ours or Adobe's message, I can't fine anything that has "1.5.1" in a pop-up.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 06:59 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
If we can judge the quality of a product by its customer service, then Cineform is the best! These guys work even at 11.30 PM... Thanks, David.

I have no issues with quality though, the 1.5.1 update worked fine for me... I am puzzled by the SHUTDOWN - why is that happening? I even tried unistalling the CF trial, but there is no such thing under "add/remove programs"... how do I get rid of it?
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 10:03 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
There is an uninstall within the Programs/CineForm/Aspect HD, but there should also be an entry within Add and Remove Program. If not it suggests you not have a complete install -- potentially causing some of the issues.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network