Aspect V5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2007, 09:20 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Aspect V5

Cineform just put up the new version of Aspect ... its ready for downloading
and seems to work well... they also added MOV... and other goodies
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 10:26 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Thanks Ray,
I normally post the info on the new builds, but we've been completing so many I forgot. There are new revisions of everything.

Aspect v5.0
NEO HDV/HD/2K v3.0
Prospect HD/2K/2K-ingest v3.0

We till have lot of website work to complete to explain all the new goodies and why everyone should upgrade. :)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 10:05 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England
Posts: 88
Hi David

Can I use v5.0 with PP 1.5.1 ?

Thanks
Ian
Ian Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 10:43 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, it will work fine with Premiere Pro 1.5.1, 2.0 and CS3. Download the trial and see for yourself.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 10:54 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England
Posts: 88
Thanks David

I'm a fully paid up Aspect user, just wanted to check I could use the latest :-)


Actually I'm having a problem at the moment converting some 1080i HDV CFHD files into PAL quicktime files through PP (Using H264), the shorter files (15mins) work fine but the 60min files are failing at the mov compiling stage, I'm just trying a 43min file to see what happens.

Thanks
Ian
Ian Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 11:18 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Subject for another thread, Premiere's QuickTime export problems, we don't think it is CineForm related.

Regarding the new product releases. There is will be a 15-day trail as always, which I recommend you use. For upgrade pricing please read http://www.cineform.com/SpecialPricing.htm
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2007, 11:56 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
I'm a fully paid-up v4 devotee - and keen to try v5, but less keen to spend another $100.

Assuming I have to uninstall v4 and install the v5, what will happen after the 15 day trial? I won't be using HDLink etc, just importing, editing and exporting to CFHD avi's.

OK, so I could uninstall v5 and re-install v4 with my Key, but I'm wondering whether that's necessary?
__________________
Doug Turner
http://therunsmovie.com
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 12:09 AM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Uninstalling v4 will not remove its license key. You have safely experiment with v5.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 12:24 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
Cool - will do...

I'm still getting problems with PPRO3 and Aspect v4 - so will try v5.

I'm editing a feature in time for a test screening at the end of May, so unfort don't have much time to report issues at the moment... I just work-around them.
__________________
Doug Turner
http://therunsmovie.com
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 06:46 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Becker, MN USA
Posts: 60
Does v5 mean Aspect HD v4 will never be supported under Vista?
Wayne Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 08:49 AM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Not necessarily, if the updates can be easy retrofitted we will do that.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 10:47 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Becker, MN USA
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Not necessarily, if the updates can be easy retrofitted we will do that.
Good, because I don't think I need any of the v5 features. Unless..."Additional visual fidelity upgrades in the CineForm Intermediate codec" are noticeably better to the average eye?
Wayne Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 06:57 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 547
Out of curiosity, does the $99 to upgrade to Aspect 5 also apply to Aspect 3.2 owners?

-Steve
Steven White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 07:20 PM   #14
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, from any version of Aspect HD it is $99. Also remember you can directly upgrade Aspect HD to the latest Prospect HD for additional $301.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2007, 07:30 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 142
I upgraded my aspect HD to prospect HD yesterday, next stop Intensity Pro card.... is that full raster HD I see recording on my computer? Oh, yes it is. Should make pulling green screen much better.
John McGinley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network