External monitoring of timeline with Aspect HD 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 9th, 2007, 12:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 162
External monitoring of timeline with Aspect HD 5

I'm a little confused and I'm looking for a simple straight answer.

Is there any way to monitor the PP2 timeline on an external CRT HD monitor/HDTV when working on an Aspect HD project?

To clarify, I'm not talking about a dual monitor setup with a dual head video card with the PP2 reference window pushed to the second monitor. I want to monitor the timeline on a dedicated HD CRT reference monitor or at least a CRT HDTV.

According to the specs on the Cineform site, you can't use any AJA HD SDI card or Blackmagic's Intensity card for output with Aspect HD. You need Prospect HD for that, and it only works with the AJA stuff.

Is there any way to achieve the above scenario with Aspect HD?

Thanks...
Chad Haufschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2007, 12:58 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Other than directing the overlay surface to second head of your display card, Prospect HD with an AJA card is the way to go.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2007, 04:02 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 162
That's what I thought you'd say...

Thanks for the simple answer, David. I was hoping not to have to spend another $2000 for that ability. Oh, well...

I have another question, but I'll start a new thread for it. Look for the one titled, "Is it a little softer or is it just me?"
Chad Haufschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2007, 04:26 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is only a $400 difference is price for Prospect HD (for May), and that gets you far more than AJA support. Check out our current prices.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2007, 04:37 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 162
Yeah, the Prospect Upgrade is priced well, but a retail version of the AJA Xena LHe is about $1500. Right now that money would be better spent on HMI lighting and another bodypack transmitter.


Thanks...
Chad Haufschild is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network