SD DV in PHD? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 17th, 2007, 08:31 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
SD DV in PHD?

David -

Can one use Prospect HD for editing SD DV material?
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2007, 09:50 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, but it is not optimized for it.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 03:41 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 173
I've been thinking the same thing actually-- for some types of work where SD dvd/broadcast is the target platform, having HDLink capture 1080i50 4:2:0 into 576p50 4:2:2 cineform would be great ... think chromakey, events, fast motion .. obviously cineform won't do the 50i->50p yet but here's hoping. in the meantime will try this as a multi-step process to test results/workflow.
Kris Bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 10:13 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
SD in PHD is fine and works well, however the question was about DV -- that is less supported although it works.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 09:36 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Patterson La.
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Yes, but it is not optimized for it.
Why not?
Its the (was) flagship right, it should have everything the entire product line has below it,,,,,,correct?
I expect everything to work in PHD/2kDL that works in Aspect
Salah Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 09:48 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Patterson La.
Posts: 207
In fact I should be able to transfer a 2k/DL lic.,, at will, to a any of the product line below it as I need, for the price.
Salah Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 10:09 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
??? Prospect 2K has all the features of Prospect HD, Aspect HD, and NEO. Why are you jumping to non-related subjects.

The question asked about DV, as in 4:1:1 DCT compression, you can convert it to CineForm without issue, you can even edit DV directly, "but [CineForm] is not optimized for [DV]". Bascially if you have DV only project you might as well edit that as is. If you have DV element for an HD project, convert the DV elements to CineForm then mix and match as you need.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2007, 10:13 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Patterson La.
Posts: 207
maybe I misunderstood the post, David.
My bad :D
Salah Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2007, 04:18 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
Yes one can edit miniDV natively, and quite easliy nowadays, with most any NLE. But what I was thinking was that I could utilize the PHD plugin that allows PPro to edit in a 10bit 4:2:2 space for heavy CC'ing, ChromaK'ing, etc..., for miniDV projects so that it would hold up better and not fall apart during such processes as it would be if it were edited natively (w/o PHD).
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2007, 10:38 AM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Andrew,

Yes, you can do it. If DV material is converted to CineForm first they is no issue for NTSC users. For PAL users there is a weirdness that DV PAL and SD PAL have opposite field orders, which can cause issues. If you place DV in a PHD project without conversion, I think you need to switch the preview mode off.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network