Strange Problem with PPro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 3rd, 2007, 09:07 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Strange Problem with PPro

OK.... this isn't really a Cineform question BUT I figure the brain trust here will know......

On both PPro 2.0 and PPro CS3, I cannot capture in regular Adobe HDV mode. On the F5 capture window, I get the counting timecode, it will control the deck, but I get no preview (before capture starts) picture and when I do hit REC, it says it's capturing but it always says "00;00;00;00 frames captured" and never makes a file.

This, of course, does NOT happen when I use Cineform (there.... it has Cineform in the question! :-)

Has anyone seen this and might know what is causing it?

Thanks!

stacy
Stacy Rothwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2007, 03:31 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 135
I had the same problem... havent researched much because i mostly capture with Aspect. But i would like to know the reason. David?
Hernan Vilchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2007, 07:12 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Yes, but there seems to be a few limitations with CS3 and Cineform (After Effects issues that just aren't there with .m2t --- Yes I saw David's response to my other message :-)

The very strange thing is that my laptop does not do this. Native HDV capture works just fine. Problem is that the laptop doesn't have a quad core processer, which is finally used all the way in CS3.

Guess I'll have to reformat from scratch, install everything and see when it gets broken.

Here's the REALLY strange thing..... other things with CS3 that use native HDV work just fine. For instance, native HDV capture works great with OnLocation.... no problems at all. If I use Cineform HDLink to capture .m2t .... again works just fine. It's just Premiere's HDV.

Hmmm.....
Stacy Rothwell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network