Premier Pro 3 editing 1080p on a 64 bit Vista notebook at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 28th, 2007, 01:36 PM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Malibu California
Posts: 6
Premier Pro 3 editing 1080p on a 64 bit Vista notebook

I use Windows 64 bit Vista on an HP dv9500 (2.2 GHz Core 2, 2GB memory, 800 MHz FSB, dual 7200RPM Drives, 1680x1050 display + NVIDIA 8600M GS) notebook and am interested in editing some 1920 * 1080p at 24 fps from scanned film, and later at 30 fps from a Sony HVR-V1U, in 1920 by 1080 progressive.

Adobe mentioned that their new Creative Suite 3 Master Collection which includes Premier Pro 3 uses only 32 bit processing, although with some additional downloading it could be made to run on 64 bit Vista, naturally doing only 32 bit computing. However they mentioned that Adobe’s software wouldn’t be converted to 64 bit processing until the Vista 64 bit operating systems became the Window’s standard, which was confirmed could be at least 2 or more years for Adobe to reprogram. (Which seems a little slow since Adobe is clearly not an underfunded company, paying executives $10 million per year for decades, we might expect that somebody could have noticed the transition coming several years ago and assigned one person to optimize the critical algorithms for 64 bit environments and onto something else.)

Alternatively, would Cineform’s latest Neo HD and codec which supports 1920 * 1080p and 10 bit color be able to take advantage of any 64 bit processing, or should I just give up on 64 bit processing altogether for at least 2 years? Perhaps more significantly would any actual 64 bit processing, even if just for the codec, improve the speed of Premier by more than 10%, or if all the algorithms were revised, by more than say 20%? Which may actually put the current reality on getting higher clock speeds and two cores which are standard on notebooks. mentions the Neo Player is free and plays all formats. Does this mean that if I have motion picture film scanned and converted to the CineForm HD format that I would use Neo Player in Premier for editing or viewing?

Thanks for any thoughts.
Ed Marrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2007, 10:20 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,086
Yes to your final question, NEO Player includes the decoder for all CineForm HD/2k/4K source files.

As for 64-bit OS support, CineForm doesn't need it, so it won't make a difference for us. The main advantage to 64-bit is not processing, but the amount of memory applications can access, both AE and PPro could be helped with 64-bit, but we will just have to wait see if it happens in the next version.
David Newman -- web:
blog: -- twitter:
David Newman is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network