Thomson Viper with Flash XDR - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 26th, 2009, 05:40 PM   #31
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrone Ford View Post
Just because you record in 8 bit doesn't mean you have to post in it...
...True. For some reason I just assumed Flash XDR was 10 bit. This is the reason I said shooting with an 8 bit camera doesn't matter, so much as recording your 8 space to 10 space and workflow stays 10 bit. However, it is what it is and importing an 8 bit file is but one hit against you. Dan was mentioning an eventual 10 bit uncompressed mode to come, so this would certainly improve things once more by allowing you to walk away with a 10 bit recorded file from an 8 bit camera :-)
Mark Job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 05:52 PM   #32
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Exactly. But I'd REALLY prefer to see 10 bit support in things OTHER than uncompressed. 10 bit uncompressed is REALLY going to burn through media. Would be great to get an hour's worth of 10 bit 4:2:2 for the ~$5k cost of the box.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 09:16 PM   #33
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perrone Ford View Post
Exactly. But I'd REALLY prefer to see 10 bit support in things OTHER than uncompressed. 10 bit uncompressed is REALLY going to burn through media. Would be great to get an hour's worth of 10 bit 4:2:2 for the ~$5k cost of the box.
...Hey Perrone. Yeah, imagine 50 Mb & 100 Mb long Gop in 10 bit color space @ 4:2:2 ? Wow - especially with that super clean MPEG 2 encoding chip Convergent's got in there. Can you explain what the quality difference is between I frame and Long GOP MPEG 2 ?
Mark Job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 09:27 PM   #34
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Just to be clear, all MPEG2 is 8-bit.

When we implement full uncompressed, we can do 8 bit or 10 bit. This is no longer using MPEG2 as it is uncompressed.

If we do 10 bit, then you have your choice of using an 8 bit or 10 bit camera.

An 8 bit camera, with 10-bit full uncompressed, is still 8 bit's effective.

With an 8-bit camera, in 10-bit full uncompressed, the least most two binary digits will always be 0.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 09:35 PM   #35
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Just to be clear, all MPEG2 is 8-bit.

When we implement full uncompressed, we can do 8 bit or 10 bit. This is no longer using MPEG2 as it is uncompressed.

If we do 10 bit, then you have your choice of using an 8 bit or 10 bit camera.

An 8 bit camera, with 10-bit full uncompressed, is still 8 bit's effective.

With an 8-bit camera, in 10-bit full uncompressed, the least most two binary digits will always be 0.
......Hey Dan MPEG 2 is 8 bit ! You learn something new every day :-)
Mark Job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 10:37 PM   #36
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Just to be clear, all MPEG2 is 8-bit.

When we implement full uncompressed, we can do 8 bit or 10 bit. This is no longer using MPEG2 as it is uncompressed.

If we do 10 bit, then you have your choice of using an 8 bit or 10 bit camera.

An 8 bit camera, with 10-bit full uncompressed, is still 8 bit's effective.

With an 8-bit camera, in 10-bit full uncompressed, the least most two binary digits will always be 0.
Dan,

Do you happen to know whether the new Canon XL H1S is 8bit or 10bit out of its HD-SDI?
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 02:58 AM   #37
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Michael,

Sorry, but no.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 09:31 AM   #38
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Incline Village, Nevada
Posts: 604
With the XLH1 it's been said that the HD-SDI stream is 10 bit, but that 2 of those 10 bits are 0's.

I have always been confused by this.
John Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 09:50 AM   #39
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear John,

With the original XL H1, the HD-SDI signal only contains 8 bits of actual data from the camera, since the XL H1 is an 8-bit camera.

The HD-SDI standard calls for 10 bits.

So the 8 bits of data are put into a 10 bit word, with the 8 bits being the most significant part, then the least significant part, the last two bits, are set to zero.

It all works.

If a camera has 12 bits of resolution, then only the most significant 10 bits can be sent over HD-SDI. The last two bits of resolution would be dropped.

If a camera has less than 10 bits of resolution, then the bits are put into the most significant part, and the remainder is set to zeros.

The important thing is to examine the image visually.

With high bit-rates, the image can still be good (or great, depending on your opinion), with only 8 bits.

Examine the images from the Viper, using only 8-bits. The images look good and it is hard to find "banding". In my personal opinion, "banding" can be caused by a limited number of bits, or a low-bit rate, high compression codec.

I have never been troubled by "Banding" with my original XL H1. I have shot in situations where I expected banding, but could not find it.

In working with the XL H1s, at the Canon Booth last year, I tried hard to get banding, but I could find any. I was shooting at a finely graduated poster which I was positive I would see banding, but I did not. I was using the HD-SDI output going into a monitor.

I do feel that it is best to work in 10 bit in post.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 01:50 PM   #40
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear John,

With the original XL H1, the HD-SDI signal only contains 8 bits of actual data from the camera, since the XL H1 is an 8-bit camera.

The HD-SDI standard calls for 10 bits.
....This was one of the reasons why I thought the XDR & the Nanoflash were 10 bit, because they both possessed an HD-SDI interface. Furthermore, I thought the XL H1 was 10 bit when recording from the HD-SDI output.
Mark Job is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network