Nano Flash and Canon HF S100 - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 24th, 2009, 11:37 AM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 196
Hi Dan,
Possible to test this with a Canon HFS10 soon?My intensity works with every other camera I have tried except this one.Could you be kind enough to perhaps borrow one and test.This will determine my long standing interest in nanoflash.Much appreciated.
__________________
My vimeo page: http://vimeo.com/henryolonga/videos
My website: www.henryolonga.net
Henry Olonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 01:36 PM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Henry,

I have sent an email to our contact at Canon for information on this subject.

If we find a Vixia HF S10 to borrow, we will test it as soon as possible.

Please let us know if you have any success in using the Vixia HF S10 with various monitors or other devices.

During your testing of the HDMI output, was it with a live image, or during playback?
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 05:43 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 196
Hi Dan,
Thanks for the reply.Anything but plugging the camcorder directly into the Sony Bravia LCD fails.It won't talk to the intensity or the HDMI switch or the HDMI splitter I bought.Just directly to the LCD and that's it.
On the camera one has the choice of frame rate.60i,30por 24p.I have it set to 24p.I know that all frame rates are sent in a 60i stream and I have also tried the other settings.
The LCD recognises the input as interlaced.
The Canon fails to connect in both live mode and also playback.
Of interest is that the composite HD menu item and the HDMI control item in the settings flicker when it has failed to do the handshake.So the camera obviously knows something is not on.The HDMI status tab shows this _ _ _ _ _ when it fails to connect and 1920 X 1080 when successfully connected to the LCD.
All help much appreciated.
Henry
__________________
My vimeo page: http://vimeo.com/henryolonga/videos
My website: www.henryolonga.net
Henry Olonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2009, 06:13 PM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Henry,

I just read the instruction manual searching for clues to the problem.

I did not find any.

I will be researching this further.

For your initial testing, I would use 1080i60 mode. Then, if we get this working, swicth to another mode.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 01:41 AM   #20
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 23
Drm?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post


To be specific, you can record the output of the Canon cameras with the Flash XDR or nanoFlash.
Do you know whether the Sony Z7 includes DRM in its HDMI output?
John Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2009, 07:24 AM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear John,

As far as I know, DRM (Digital Rights Management), which is really HDCP (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection), via the "Broadcast Flag" is almost never applied to the original source as created by a consumer or professional camera.

In other words, DRM should not be a problem when using consumer or professional camera.

In a different light, I can not see any reason why DRM would be invoked on any camera.

For example, many professional HD monitors do not include HDCP. Thus any HDCP protected content could not be viewed on these professional monitors.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 03:22 PM   #22
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Friends,

All Canon camcorders - in camera mode - output uncompressed (right off the Digic DSP, before any compression). Some like the XL H1S use HD-SDI, some like the HF S10, use HDMI.

In all Canon camcorders, there is a menu item or button that removes the overlay.

In the HF S10 it is a button under the LCD panel (body of camcorder) that is labeled <DISP/BATT. INFO>. Keep pressing that and the overlay will disappear.

Based on my research, there is no DRM on the HDMI output. The Canon HF S10 has been used succesfully with the AJA Kona card on a Mac to record video directly to FCP.

We are in the process of obtaining a Canon HF S10 for more tests.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 03:43 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 196
Mystery

Thanks Dan.So someone has successfully captured from the HDMI port?If that is the case I wonder what the Jeeves is going on with mine.
Do keep us posted.
Henry
__________________
My vimeo page: http://vimeo.com/henryolonga/videos
My website: www.henryolonga.net
Henry Olonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2009, 03:47 PM   #24
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Henry,

We expect to have a Canon HF S10 by the end of this week, or early next week.

At that time, we hope to be in a position to test this.

We will report our results.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 05:06 PM   #25
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 23
HDMI recording

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
We expect to have a Canon HF S10 by the end of this week, or early next week.

At that time, we hope to be in a position to test this.
Hey, Dan:

If you can borrow a Sony Z7, it would be good to have confirmation that there are no issues recording from the HDMI output of that camera.

John
John Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 05:27 PM   #26
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear John,

Sorry, but, I do not have easy access to a Sony Z7 right now.

We borrowed the Canon HF S10 directly from Canon since there was one user that was having problems with the HDMI output working with only certain monotors.

We will be testing the nanoFlash will a large number of cameras as soon as possible.

I may be able to test the nanoFlash with the Sony Z7 at Cine Gear Expo, in Hollywood, next week.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 05:32 PM   #27
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posts: 23
Z7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear John,

I may be able to test the nanoFlash with the Sony Z7 at Cine Gear Expo, in Hollywood, next week.
Thanks, Dan.
John Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2009, 05:40 PM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London
Posts: 196
Thanks for going to trouble to test this guys.Appreciated.
Henry
__________________
My vimeo page: http://vimeo.com/henryolonga/videos
My website: www.henryolonga.net
Henry Olonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2009, 08:34 PM   #29
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Henry,

We now have the Canon HF S10 in house.

We were tied up working on the nanoFlash, but we will get to it as soon as possible.

We have ordered some HDMI to HDMI cables earlier this week, but I do not know if we need a new one to test the HF S10. In any case, our cables should be in shortly.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 08:23 PM   #30
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Friends,

We have tested the Canon HF S10 with the nanoFlash.

We found it to work fine.

We did not find any evidence of DRM or HDCP copy protection.

This confirms the information that Canon provided to us.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network