Convince me why I need the nanoflash at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 6th, 2009, 07:17 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 10
Convince me why I need the nanoflash

I've long been eyeing off the xdr and the nanoflash and i'm pretty close to making a purchase. just before i shell out the bucks, i want to hear why i should buy the nano. i use a sony ex3 and use it for both stock and short film projects. will i notice a huge difference in the quality of the footage? what is the cheapest and easiest way to power it with the ex3?
Wade John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 07:43 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Wade,

When doing film projects, you may or may not be doing Chroma Keying (Greenscreen work).

If you do, you will greatly appreciate the detail that is recorded by the nanoFlash.

The Sony EX1 and EX3 record internally at 4:2:0. For greenscreen work, and for projecting a large image, 4:2:2 is dramatically better.

For other work, 4:2:2 is best for capturing high quality images.

Please understand that the Sony EX1 and EX3 are capable of great images, but they are always 4:2:0. For many, this is good enough. But, without question, 4:2:2 images are better.

Even more importantly, our 100 Mbps Long GOP mode has enough bandwidth (bit-rate) to capture almost any image, no matter how detailed, or no matter how much motion, without image artifacts. Under normal circumstances this is not a problem. For demanding work or unusual situations, you will come to appreciate our 100 Mbps mode versus your 35 Mbps mode.

You will probably also like our workflow. It can not get much easier since we record in native Quicktime for Final Cut Pro or native MXF for Avid, Vegas and Edius.



The nanoFlash comes with its own AC power supply.

We will be coming out with a battery cradle for Sony Batteries. This will probably be the least expensive way to power the nanoFlash. If you already have a D-Tap power outlet, then the purchase of a D-Tap to 4-Pin Hirose is a reasonable way to go.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 11:15 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sydney-Australia
Posts: 443
Hi mate,

If you visit Sydney in the near future - drop me an email and come have a look at my Flash XDR with your camera.
I also use the EX3 and ever since I started using it with the Flash XDR I simply can not consider shooting without it. I only do wildlife so maybe your needs are different.

Cheers mate,
Ofer Levy Photography
Ofer Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 05:24 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Wade,

Raw acquisition quality is the reason. Period.

Basically all image manipulations in post production benefit *signifigantly* from a lightly compressed, more data-rich recording.

Another HUGE reason would be if you hope to meet the highest HD broadcaster requirements with the lower-cost HD cameras. The high bit rate acquisition stands a much better chance of holding up much better and further through the sometimes horrific path of broadcast HD compression.

And of course, your Blu-ray discs should look noticeably better too in demanding scenes if you've shot with a high bit rate and use a high quality post workflow to master with.

I will be shooting a few codec-challenging scenes on a shoot this weekend, and I plan to try the 35mbs mode (same as EX1/3) and the 100, 160mbs long GOP and even max 220 I-frame.

I'll post the results hopefully sometime next week.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2009, 07:21 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 10
Thanks all for your helpful replies - I think I'm convinced. I've done a bit of green screen editing this week and sure wish the footage wasn't so noisy. Ofer, I actually moved to Sydney early this year and yes I also do a fair bit of wildlife work. We should talk some time.
Wade John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 02:20 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 10
Dan,

When do you expect to start selling the sony battery cradles?

Will this baby be fine for the nanoflash? EX-V adapter
There are options to configure the adapter.

Thanks

Wade
Wade John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 10:33 AM   #7
DVi Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 374
so any power supply with a 12 volt tap will work e.g. Dtap port,, so the unit requires 12 volt supply?? or at least a range upto 12 volts??

Does the unit trigger off of the cameras trigger? or do you have to start and stop it externally??
Craig Chartier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2009, 11:22 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Craig,

The nanoFlash accepts 6.5 to 19.5 VDC and consumes just 5.6 watts of power, far less than most any camera.

The nanoFlash can be triggered via Record-Run timecode, either externally via LTC or via timecode embedded in the HD-SDI signal. When the timecode stops, we stop.

Also, the nanoFlash can be controlled via the front panel switches, or via a wired remote control with a tally light.

The nanoFlash, in a future release, will be able to record via the Record Flag, embedded in the HD-SDI output of certain very high-end Sony cameras, such as the F23 and F35. We are just waiting for the specifications for this flag.

Note: We are also able to generate our own internal timecode.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2009, 11:04 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
I am on the fence of buying a EX1 or putting a Nano Flash on my Sony V1U. Can you tell me how well the Nano works with the Sony V1u?
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2009, 12:03 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wales
Posts: 2,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Little View Post
I am on the fence of buying a EX1 or putting a Nano Flash on my Sony V1U. Can you tell me how well the Nano works with the Sony V1u?
It'll work just as well with any camera that has HD SDI or HDMI output. Codecs and bit rates are the same whether you've got a V1 or an F23. Arguably you'll get more benefit from using with V1 than EX1 as the jump from HDV to 100 mb/s is greater than EX to 100 mb/s.
Steve
Steve Phillipps is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network