NanoFlash features wish list at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 30th, 2009, 06:19 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 393
NanoFlash features wish list

Actually, it's just one feature that would be nice and that is an on screen display, confirming the unit is recording, CF card usage, bit rate, audio meters & any other useful info which one could select to have displayed.

I just bought the DP1 monitor from SmallHD and it would be great to see these features on screen, just like on the EX3 viewfinder.

Is this a feature that is being considered?

Thanks very much.
__________________
David Issko
Edit 1 Video Productions
David Issko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 08:46 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear David,

We are working on a "Status" display, in which all of the information that you mentioned will be displayed on the LCD of the nanoFlash.

This is expected for our November release.

Our next release is not expected to have this, but our release after that will along with many other new features.



But, you may have meant that you want us to send this status information to your external monitor.

If so, then I am sorry, we do not have immediate plans to do so.

To do so would require significant resources in our nanoFlash and quite a long time to develop. We are reserving our resources for some other features. We hope you understand.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 04:50 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 50
Add 3:2 pulldown of 24/23.98Psf files over HDMI to the 'wish list'. This would allow older monitors or consumer panel TV's with HDMI inputs to display 24/23.98Psf files at the 59.94i they're locked into.

Nice feature that would let you watch your work in your living room but I'd imagine the trade show/staging folks would also love to have it for use with the huge inventory of monitors they own.
__________________
Paul Steinberg
DP, Toronto |+|Canada
Paul Steinberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 04:55 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Paul,

We are currently invstigating this.

Our engineers are working on it.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2009, 03:41 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 393
Thanks Dan,

Yes, I am after the status to be able to be displayed on a monitor if required.
I understand the priorities list you are working on.

Thanks anyway.
__________________
David Issko
Edit 1 Video Productions
David Issko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2009, 03:46 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear David,

Thanks.

That is difficult for us to do at this time.

I agree that it would be nice.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 09:18 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Taipei
Posts: 3
Nanoflash record dirctly in the ProRes format

I wish the nanoflash can add a new option.
Recoding in Apply ProRes 422(HQ) Format about 180m/s.
In this encode code, one can edit free in FCS.
Yi-nan Liu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 11:15 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vientiane (Lao PDR)
Posts: 349
Hi Yinan,
That would be great.
There have been many posts about the possibilities of the NANO/XDR, but nobody yet have asked if the the processor can be tweaked to record something that is not MPEG-2.
I'm not sure if is possible.
I understand that there are "MPEG-2 ONLY" processors.
The more capabilities of the processor, the more expensive.
But is not just a matter of processor; Size, heat, power,..
We are just in the beginning of the Solid State Video Recording.
Little by little eveything will arrive.
rafael
Rafael Amador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2009, 01:17 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
What about recording SD to one card and HD to the other? Being able to hand the client a CF card that will play on whatever system they have would be nice, and I would still have the HD clips to edit.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2009, 01:26 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Steve,

We have Sony's latest and greatest MPEG-2 encoder/decoder module in our nanoFlash.

This is a very capable device, but it can not encode to both SD and HD simultaneously.

I know you would like to do this is one nanoFlash, but it currently takes two nanoFlashes to do what you are requesting, one for HD, and one for SD.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2009, 01:28 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yi-nan Liu View Post
I wish the nanoflash can add a new option.
Recoding in Apply ProRes 422(HQ) Format about 180m/s.
In this encode code, one can edit free in FCS.
We can record, in the nanoFlash and Flash XDR, in native Quicktime.

Our files "drag and drop" into Final Cut Pro, provide excellent image quality, and they are easy to edit. In addition, you have the option of I-Frame Only at 100/140/160/220 Mbps and 50/100/140/160 Long-GOP, all 4:2:2.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2009, 05:39 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Australia
Posts: 371
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Steve,

We have Sony's latest and greatest MPEG-2 encoder/decoder module in our nanoFlash.

This is a very capable device, but it can not encode to both SD and HD simultaneously.

I know you would like to do this is one nanoFlash, but it currently takes two nanoFlashes to do what you are requesting, one for HD, and one for SD.
Hello Dan,
I am a bit confused here how can you encode both SD and HD simultaneously to two nanoFlash. I could really use this feature and would buy a second nanoFlash if it was possible. I was under the impression that the nanoFlash can only record the SDI signal sent to it so if the camera output is set for SD SDI how can you record HD to a second nanoFlash?
Lance Librandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2009, 06:15 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 2,222
Dan, so does the Nanoflash architecture not allow storing full resolution frame grabs? I was asking about the possiblity of a 15-60 fps "still" camera that writes to uncompressed TIFF or PNG files.
Gints Klimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2009, 06:19 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita
Posts: 590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lance Librandi View Post
Hello Dan,
I am a bit confused here how can you encode both SD and HD simultaneously to two nanoFlash. I could really use this feature and would buy a second nanoFlash if it was possible. I was under the impression that the nanoFlash can only record the SDI signal sent to it so if the camera output is set for SD SDI how can you record HD to a second nanoFlash?
Hi Lance, your camera would need to output both HD and SD SDI to two NanoFlash. Otherwise you'd need to convert the HD-SDI out of one Nanoflash to SD-SDI and run into the other Nanoflash.

My camera can output 3 separate SDI outputs but it can't mix format between them. All are HD. I do have a composite out that has an SD signal that I could convert to SDI with my AJA box and then record SD with a Nano. That's a lot of boxes to carry though.
Aaron Newsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2009, 06:24 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 146
This works for the EX3.

You have an SD downconvert coming out of the "video" connector to one nanoFLASH, the the main SDI with HD going to the other nanoFLASH.

I suspect there's a slight time delay, but shouldn't affect you.
__________________
nanoFlash Dealer \ nanoFlash 3D, AJA Kona 3G, DeckLink HD Extreme 3D +, Nuke
3D film/video production since 1972
Daniel Symmes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network