Adobe CS3/CS4 + MainConcept = Great News - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 25th, 2009, 12:57 PM   #76
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,869
Well as least I know it is not my machine or monitor. Could I be missing a setting on the timeline or output?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 01:02 PM   #77
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,869
Timeline settings:
Frame 1920 x 1080 HDTV 1080i (16x9)
Pixel AR square
Field Dominance None
Editing Time base 29.97

QT Video Settings
apple ProRes 422 HA
Quality 100%
Compressor Interlaced not checked
Enable 4.4.4. not checked

Video Processing
Render 8-bit YUV
Process Max white at White
Motion Filter Best

Render Control
Filter Checked
Frame Blending Checked
Frame Rate 100%
Resolution 100%
Codec Same as Seq
Mater Templates and Motion Best
Always use Best Quality Checked
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 01:34 PM   #78
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita
Posts: 590
Paul, I think I see what your problem is. I'm pretty sure you're output file is being rendered from the timeline and not the source files. There are a multitude of ways to export files out of FCP only a couple of them use the source files at 100% quality. This is why I always recommend using compressor either standalone or from FCP, or use the Media Manager. This always uses the source files at 100% quality.

* Don't ever use "Export Using Quicktime Conversion", ever, for any reason.

* Only use "Export Using Quicktime Movie" if you are exporting the exact same codec, frame rate, etc (for example to trim away garbage footage and get new source files without re-encoding). This is not useful for what we are trying to do here.

I'm uploading a ProRes422 conversion that I did and you can clearly see the difference between the ProRes422 file I made and the one you made, although they are the same size. My ProRes422 file was made using your ORIGINAL media though, not a degraded copy of your media from the FCP timeline.

Check out the file I am uploading when you get a chance and tell me what you think. It'll be a few hours before the upload is complete though. I can do frame grabs if you'd like to see it faster though.
Aaron Newsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 01:47 PM   #79
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,869
Aaron could you give me a call? 401 481 3811
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 02:30 PM   #80
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,869
Aaron thanks for the call. This method looks so much better and very close to the source. The only difference is QT is not as smooth with the higher bit rate.

Also I can not copy the files to the external hard drive. (error code 0) A new problem.

Solved (error code 0) The clip has to be unlocked prior to going into compressor
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com

Last edited by Paul Cronin; November 25th, 2009 at 02:48 PM. Reason: solved error code
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 04:21 PM   #81
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,869
By the way the error code 0 was due to ProRes HQ increasing the file size over the 3.5GB, so the Fat32 drive I have formated on my Mac would not accept the larger files. Lesson learned if you do this method make sure you keep your files under the Fat32 3.5GB limit.

Again Aaron thanks for you help with the Final Cut to Premier Pro PC transfer.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2009, 04:30 PM   #82
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita
Posts: 590
Paul, the smoothness issue is the higher bitrate creating a larger file, probably running into a disk i/o constraint. Quicktime may stutter on playback but they should playback fine in FCP, since FCP can dynamically adjust quality so it plays back smoothly.
Aaron Newsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2009, 08:31 AM   #83
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,869
Agree Aaron the disk i/o seems to not keep up at the bit rates over 100Mbps. Hope Premier Pro does not have a issue.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2009, 01:01 PM   #84
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita
Posts: 590
Unfortunately Paul, I don't think Quicktime can do the dynamic quality adjustment on playback like FCP can. From what I've been able to uncover, the dynamic quality adjustment on playback is built into the ProRes codec but no apps, other than FCP seem to actually do the dynamic quality adjustment. None that I've used at least.
Aaron Newsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2009, 09:24 AM   #85
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,869
Agreed I have found the same that it has to be on a FC timeline to play over the 100Mbps back smooth.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network