nanoFlash on a XDCAM Disc at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 17th, 2009, 04:59 PM   #1
Sponsor: Abel CineTech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 360
nanoFlash on a XDCAM Disc

Dan and Mike allowed me to test out the beta firmware on the nanoFlash and I had some great results. I was able to transfer nanoFlash MXF files (in 50 Mbps LongGOP) to a 23GB ProDisc via U1 drive and then play them back in a PDWF800. Read my blog about my process here -

How to put nanoFlash video on a XDCAM Disc | CineTechnica
__________________
Andy Shipsides -Camera Technology Specialist
AbelCineTech, New York - Visit our Blog - http://blog.abelcine.com
Andy Shipsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2009, 09:34 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: GLASGOW, UK
Posts: 71
NanoFlash on an XDCAM

Hi Andy - this is great. Thanks for posting such a detailed blog post on this.

Couple of questions:

- Did you try modifying any metadata, e.g. IN/OUT points, clip names etc? Do these carry through to the exported clips on the XDCAM HD disc?

- Can we assume that you have FCP installed to get the XDCAM HD codecs? Have you tried running XDCAM Transfer utility using 3rd party codecs like the Calibrated Q ones?

I for one am looking forward to trying this out myself once the firmware is released.

Cheers.

Dave C
Dave Chalmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2009, 04:01 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Once you write the MXF's to an XDCAM device the XDCAM device (U1, camera etc) will build the Proxy files and associated metadata XML files so you should be able to add all the metadata you want.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2009, 05:25 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: GLASGOW, UK
Posts: 71
NanoFlash metadata to XDCAM HD disc

Thanks Alister - I'm sure that's true, but I was just wanting to confirm that if you modify the metadata on the way through, as it were, whether that 'sticks' when it gets to the XDCAM HD disc. i.e. if you change something in the XDCAM transfer app, does it stay there on the final XDCAM disc?

You would think the answer would be 'yes' as it should modify the MXF with the new data during the export from the transfer SW but it would be nice to have that confirmed.

I didn't realise that the proxies would be re-built - that's an interesting one.

Regards

Dave
Dave Chalmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2009, 06:14 PM   #5
Sponsor: Abel CineTech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 360
Dave

It does build the proxies when it copies and data can be modified at that point. They become full fledged XDCAM clips really.

Andy
__________________
Andy Shipsides -Camera Technology Specialist
AbelCineTech, New York - Visit our Blog - http://blog.abelcine.com
Andy Shipsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2009, 03:07 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Friends,

With our next firmware, one can load our 50 Mbps Long-GOP MXF footage onto a Sony Optical disk and it can then be played back properly.


While not obvious, any of our other footage, other bit rates, etc, can be stored on the Sony Optical disk, but, of course, they can not be played back. They can be used for archiving or transfer purposes.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2009, 04:57 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: GLASGOW, UK
Posts: 71
XDCAM transfer tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Shipsides View Post
Dave

It does build the proxies when it copies and data can be modified at that point. They become full fledged XDCAM clips really.

Andy
OK I did some tests with the sample clip posted here and got some interesting results.

I used the Sony XDCAM transfer tool, along with the Calibrated Q XD decode plugin demo and found that sure enough the transfer tool sees the NanoFlash MXF file and you can browse it etc. (it doesn't see current firmware clips at all)

Following the original workflow of 'export clip to file...' lets you export whole clips, but not selected subclips marked with in and out.
If you do an 'import' and re-wrap the clip into a .mov file then it DOES modify the clip name, trim to in and outs etc. but you would then have to use the CD MOV to MXF converter tool to re-wrap the clips into MXF again to save onto the XDCAM disc.
I didn't get a chance to try this last bit.

Nonetheless this promises to give a very usable review, select and archive workflow where you clone onto a laptop, review and select clips in XDCAM transfer, then archive onto XDCAM HD disc.

Our U1 XDCAM HD disc reader arrives next week so I'm hoping to play with this a lot more.

Regards

Dave C
Dave Chalmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 06:23 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
I am assuming you do not have FCP installed if you are using XD-Decode. You should not install XD-Decode if you do have FCP as this will cause all kinds of errors.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2009, 10:26 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: GLASGOW, UK
Posts: 71
XD-Decode instead of FCP

Yes, that's right Alister - we don't have FCP on this Macbook - it's for cloning rushes only.
Our U1 reader should arrive tomorrow, so I'm looking forward to trying out the final step.

Regards

Dave C
Dave Chalmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 01:44 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
I wonder if your inability to be able to export partial clips from the transfer tool is because you only have a decode codec and no encode codec? You may need the encode codec to trim files with in and out points.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 08:00 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
This sounds like it could work out to be a very safe archive for all footage shot on the Nano. Beats using Raid 1 drives.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 03:07 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hobe Sound, Florida
Posts: 213
60 Minutes Accepts EX /Nano/Optical

Yesterday we shot for CBS 60 Minutes. A segment that will air Dec 6. A three camera shoot. One 800, one 700, and an EX 3/Nano Flash. I transfered the EX/Nano files to optical and the AP at 60 Minutes has just informed me that everything worked out just great. The editor loved it. Easy, safe and secure. Thanks to Chris Tsai at Sony and Dan and Michael at CD, for taking my idea and making it happen so fast. No more Hard drive copying and worries of HD failure. A permanent archive.
Dennis Dillon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 03:09 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,865
Dennis that is great news.

Now where to find the best deals on the disk?
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2009, 04:54 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: GLASGOW, UK
Posts: 71
Encode codec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alister Chapman View Post
I wonder if your inability to be able to export partial clips from the transfer tool is because you only have a decode codec and no encode codec? You may need the encode codec to trim files with in and out points.
You could well be right Alister - I'll need to look into that.

Good suggestion.

Thanks

Dave C
Dave Chalmers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2009, 08:11 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Dennis,

Thank you for posting the good news!
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network