HD-SDI Output and nano Firmware 1.1.154 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 26th, 2010, 10:14 PM   #1
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
HD-SDI Output and nano Firmware 1.1.154

We have recently discovered that a very limited number of nanoFlash units do not output an HD-SDI signal when loaded with version 1.1.154 of the firmware. The problem occurs on both loop-thru and playback. The nanoFlash does record properly, but there is no output on the HD-SDI spigot for monitoring/viewing.

We received a failing unit this afternoon and hope to track down the problem in the next day or so. It appears to be a timing related issue that affects a very limited number of the video processor chips (the FPGA). Most nanoFlash units work properly with firmware 1.1.154.

In the interium, please check the HD-SDI ouptut on your nanoFlash to ensure proper operation. If the output is inoperative, please send an e-mail to support (at) convergent-design.com, so we can get a more accurate accessment of the issue. You can then roll-back to firmware version 1.0.122 and the HD-SDI output should work fine.

Again, this problem has been identified on 3 units, thus far, so it is a very limited issue. Most nanoFlash units work fine with firmware 1.1.154. But, please check your unit before going out on the next shoot.

We apologize for the problem and hope to resolve quickly.

Best-
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2010, 09:33 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Teaneck, NJ
Posts: 659
FYI, my unit is fine.

Likewise, my wife's Toyota is not affected.

Guess we just might be living right these days.

Ned Soltz
Ned Soltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2010, 10:46 AM   #3
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
HD-SDI Output Issue on nanoFlash

Hi Ned-
Glad the nano and Toyota are both doing fine! Thankfully, my Prius was also not affected.

Looks like the problem is related to HD-SDI jitter. We are looking into the failing unit today.

Thanks for the feedback and glad to hear you are "living right".

Cheers-
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2010, 08:41 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Carbondale, Colorado
Posts: 117
No news is...

Any word on this? I'm heading out on the road later this month...

Thanks!
__________________
Bob
FireDancer Productions, Inc.
Bob Griffiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 05:21 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Friends,

If you monitor works with the nanoFlash, then you are ok.

We are busy trying to determine why just a few units exhibit this behavior.

We have determined, that for these few units, that the HD-SDI "jitter" is too high.

And, it depends on which monitor one is using. We seem to have more trouble with the Panasonic monitors, Sony monitors seem to work. (Just to be clear this is our problem, not Panasonics).

If your monitor does not work with your nanoFlash, then we would like to hear from you.

Please send an email, with your nanoFlash serial number, your name and phone number, to:

support (at) convergent-design (dot) com
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 10:38 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Carbondale, Colorado
Posts: 117
Marshall Monitor too...

Hey Dan,

Bear in mind that I am seeing this problem with my brandy new Marshall LCD651ST and not seeing it in my Panasonic BT-LH1760P.

Thanks!
__________________
Bob
FireDancer Productions, Inc.
Bob Griffiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 10:43 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Bob,

Thanks for the update.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2010, 01:47 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,864
My Marshall V-LCD70XP-3GSDI works fine with the Nano.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 09:09 AM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 4
HD-SDI out really HS ? :-(

I have the same problem with my nanoflash recorder, the HD-SDI output not working
today at all with any monitor and with the last 2 firmware versions. The signal degradation was very gradual and then after 1 month of use it does not work at all with any
monitor.

I use to help the HDMI output but the signal
Video is much less practice with the material of classical shooting.
It s not a good solution.

Convergent Design nanoFlash does not offer a solution ?
Pierre Bleue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2010, 09:53 AM   #10
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
HD-SDI Output Fix

We found the issue on the HD-SDI output. We made a small change to the driver voltage swing which reduces the output jitter. A JVC and Marshall monitor, which were previously failing, are now working properly.

We are cleaning up a few minors bugs in the code and hope to release a beta update in the next day or so. I will post a message on the forum when the code is ready for download. Also, if you have registered your nanoFlash (send a message to support (at) convergent-design.com), you will also receive e-mail notification of the new firmware.

I apologize for the problem, but this new firmware should resolve the issue.

Best-
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2010, 08:40 AM   #11
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 4
Beta 1.5.31 isnt not good for this bug

I have the same problem with nanoFlash firmware Beta 1.5.31, the HD-SDI output not working with my HD monitor (BON Classic BLM084).
Pierre Bleue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2010, 08:55 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Pierre,

We will be happy to assist. Please help us with a little more information.

Does the monitor display the signal when connected directly to the camera?

What frame rate/mode are you using?

Have you tried the E to E menu option?

Does any other monitor work with the nanoFlash.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2010, 09:07 AM   #13
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pierre Bleue View Post
I have the same problem with nanoFlash firmware Beta 1.5.31, the HD-SDI output not working with my HD monitor (BON Classic BLM084).
Hi Pierre-
Could you test on a different brand of monitor (maybe Sony, Panasonic or JVC)? We are trying to locate a BON monitor, but I cannot find a source in the US. We need to know if this a problem with this particular brand of monitors, or if there is a problem with your nanoFlash hardware.

Thanks-
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2010, 11:35 AM   #14
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 4
problem with nanoFlash hdsdi out

Sorry, i don't have an other monitor with hd-sdi :(

my two monitor are BON BLM084

CVC WebShop

my monitor are ok with other video source (ex: camera linked directly in 1080I)

(With the nanoflash the signal degradation was very gradual and then after 1 month of use.)

I try to find an other monitor hd for a final test...
Pierre Bleue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2010, 10:33 AM   #15
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 4
HD-SDI out H.S.

i try the output HD SDI of nanoflash with 2 other monitor and system video HD (JVC and via TV-one HD rack) ... no signal, this output is really H.S. !!!

It a big problem because the HDMI output is too strange with firmware Beta 1.5.31

1920.1080 50I > IFRAME 100mbits REC: 25PSF and PLAY: 25PSF
live : no signal ,
play : ok but with many drop in monitor
CF files : OK (whitout drop).

1920.1080 50I > IFRAME 100mbits REC: 50I and PLAY: 25PSF
live : OK ,
play : many bug, freeze... :((, no signal
CF files corrupted or hide in compact flash (Mac et PC)

today... it s not possible for a professionnal use.

Got a real solution?

Can you return the equipment or replacement
repair?
Pierre Bleue is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network