Record trigger not responding w MPG at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 12th, 2010, 12:49 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Drachten, Netherlands
Posts: 179
Record trigger not responding w MPG

I used the NF on a job as a backup recorder. Since I had to film all day I decided to use mpg SD recording to be sure that I had enough memory on the flashcards. I used the embedded timecode trigger for starting the recording. The first one or two takes were ok but later on I discovered that the NF was not recording. I did some tests and every time after a reboot the recorder only starts the first few times. After that it just gives no recording indication. I decided to change to MXF recording as in this mode it seemed to trigger well. I had no time to look through the files yet.
Probably something to do with mxf not embedding time code and the new function which controls "older timecode" not to trigger the cam.
As so, there should be an additional parameter in the video/system menu giving you the choice to 'listen' to older time code or not... Or just leave this off when in mpg mode.
I tried the beta version.
Ron Aerts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 07:41 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Ron,

I am alerting our engineers about your report.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 09:00 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Aerts View Post
I used the NF on a job as a backup recorder. Since I had to film all day I decided to use mpg SD recording to be sure that I had enough memory on the flashcards. I used the embedded timecode trigger for starting the recording. The first one or two takes were ok but later on I discovered that the NF was not recording. I did some tests and every time after a reboot the recorder only starts the first few times. After that it just gives no recording indication. I decided to change to MXF recording as in this mode it seemed to trigger well. I had no time to look through the files yet.
Probably something to do with mxf not embedding time code and the new function which controls "older timecode" not to trigger the cam.
As so, there should be an additional parameter in the video/system menu giving you the choice to 'listen' to older time code or not... Or just leave this off when in mpg mode.
I tried the beta version.
I had something happen last evening along the same line - I wasn't going to report it because I couldn't consistently reproduce it. I was testing out the ability of the NF not to record when using the last clip review on the EX1 (I have it set for the entire clip). Indeed the NF did not record but when the camera returned to camera mode and I tried to record a clip the NF did not start recording. As I say, this only happened twice. I rebooted the NF and couldn't reproduce it although there was a 1-2 second delay between pushing the record button on the camera and the NF showing "RECORD" mode (is that normal - haven't really paid attention to this before ?).

I was shooting MXF@ 100mbps 1080 30p and the NF was set to record on embedded timecode. I was also using the latest firmware (V. 1.20) for the EX1. I also had the NF set with buffer "on". The NF has the new Beta firmware.

Addendum - had the camera set up this evening and I was able to reproduce the same behavior - it was sporadic and intermittent - at times the NF would not record at all (unless rebooted) after using record review on the EX1 and at other times it would. There was also the starting of recording being delayed by 1-4 seconds which was intermittent. I tried turning the buffer on and off and it did not affect this behavior - and no, I didn't start recording too early - I always waited until "Stopping" was not displayed and the green light was displayed on the NF. I hope this is not a bug in the new Sony EX1 firmware and it's interaction with the NF. It is late so I am not taking the next step - reverting back to the "production" NF firmware until tomorrow.

2nd Addendum - ok couldn't wait until a.m. switched back to 1.1.154 and problem resolved - of course the NF records the "record review" from the camera but there is no delay in starting recording on the NF when the camera's record button is pushed. Looks like I will skip the Beta for my upcoming spring break vacation - never had a single problem with the 1.1.154 firmware. Since this is the first time (unless I am mistaken) that this behavior has been reported, I wonder if many users just don't observe if there is a delay with the NF starting to record with the Beta firmware?

Last edited by Barry J. Weckesser; March 12th, 2010 at 10:33 PM.
Barry J. Weckesser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 02:17 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Drachten, Netherlands
Posts: 179
Audio corrupt as well

I looked through the mxf files I recorded. But there is something horribly wrong with the audio. On the left channel I have a full level/peaking hum. The audio was ok with the previous mpg clips, the next clip (3 minutes later after power reboot) as an mxf is corrupted in audio.
It stays that way throughout the whole day, also after moments i know i did a power down and up.
The backups are useless, luck that the cam recorded fine as usual... I better go back to version 1.1.178
Ron Aerts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 06:58 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 427
Ron - don't you mean version 1.1.154?
Barry J. Weckesser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 07:24 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Ron,

For production use, we recommend 1.1.154.

Dear Berry,

I will alert our engineers to your findings.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 10:31 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Drachten, Netherlands
Posts: 179
yeah, sorry, 154 it is
any idea what could have happened with the audio?
Ron Aerts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 01:24 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Ron,

I believe this to be a problem with our Public Beta, 1.5.31.

We will have a release with this corrected soon.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 07:39 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 427
Dan - do you happen to know if your software engineers were able to reproduce the delay in the starting of recording of the Nano (after the camera record button is pressed) and if they were able to document no recording at all after "clip review" was activated and then the record button (on the camera) pressed to start another recording?
Barry J. Weckesser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 08:27 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Which CF cards are you using, Barry?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 10:04 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 427
Sandisk Extreme III 32 GB and Photofast 64 GB - freshly formatted (in the Nano with the new Beta Software). I am now back to the "approved" firmware and have had no issues.
Barry J. Weckesser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 10:08 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
The PhotoFast cards seem to be the common denominator...

Please try and establish whether your problems occur with both the PhotoFast and Sandisk, Barry :)
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 10:20 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 427
I am getting the camera and gear ready for our spring break vacation so will retest when I get home today. I am almost certain I tested with both cards with the beta software. I know, for a fact, that there is no delay in starting to record or failure to record (after clip review) with the Photofast with the old software (1.1.154)
Barry J. Weckesser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 10:37 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Thanks Barry.

Too many unknown variables to draw a conclusion, except that my severe problems with 2x32GB PhotoFast cards started when I first upgraded to the newest Public Beta.

Before that (i.e. with the official 1.1.154 firmware), my nanoFlash/PhotoFast combo was working perfectly.

Considering what Dan has reported about the PhotoFast cards "losing the programming, internally, of its controller chip", this could have been somehow triggered or accelerated with the Beta features of the nanoFlash (see here: http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/converge...ash-cards.html).

At least this is what I'm seeing now here: after a full month of fighting with intermittent errors with my PhotoFast cards, I've been torture-testing a Sandisk Extreme card for a second day now, without a single glitch!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 02:56 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 427
Wow - at $ 300 a pop I would hate to end up with 2 cards that are non-functional - unless something is improved in the new beta or the final firmware I will be stuck with 1.1.154 henceforth. Since my cards are 64 GB should that make a difference?
Barry J. Weckesser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network