Avid AMA support for nanoFlash at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 21st, 2010, 10:43 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York City
Posts: 23
Avid AMA support for nanoFlash

Hello everyone,

With all the news that came out at NAB about MC 5.0, I was wondering if CD had any announcements about AMA support for nanoFlash files? Seeing all the native support for ProRes and R3D has me dreaming of the same for the XDCam HD nano files. I plan on upgrading all our suites to MC 5.0 when it's released so I can test then.

Thanks!
Ted O'Brien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2010, 01:20 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
I believe Avid currently works w/ nanoFlash files, no transcode needed.
__________________
Avid Media Composer 3.1.3. Boris Red and Continuum Complete. Vegas 8.0c. TMPGEnc Xpress Pro 4.0
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2010, 04:31 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Convergent Design's Flash XDR and Nano Flash & Avid

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Moretti View Post
I believe Avid currently works w/ nanoFlash files, no transcode needed.
...Hi Peter and Ted: This is correct. Avid Media Composer works with the files from the XDR & Nano because these devices are using a hardware Sony XDCAM HD 4:2:2 Full Raster HD encoder. You must set your XDR or Nano to .MXF files and if you so desire to record in Long GOP, then you must set your bit rate to no more than 50 Mbps. If you want to use files recorded in a higher bit rate in Avid, then you can use I-Frame recording scheme and a bit rate of 100 or higher Mbps.
Mark Job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2010, 07:05 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Namsos Norway
Posts: 7
Is Avid MC 5 really not able to handle more than 50 Mbit/s MPEG II? We all know the 100 Mbit/s codec is the sweetspot of the Nanoflash... If MC 5 can't handle that, it's useless for most nanoflash applications... that's really disappointing.
Max Petin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2010, 08:31 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Petin View Post
Is Avid MC 5 really not able to handle more than 50 Mbit/s MPEG II? We all know the 100 Mbit/s codec is the sweetspot of the Nanoflash... If MC 5 can't handle that, it's useless for most nanoflash applications... that's really disappointing.
Re-read what he said. Avid CAN handle higher then 50Mbps but it has to be i-frame, not long-GOP.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2010, 03:24 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Namsos Norway
Posts: 7
Hi Perrone, you are right with I-frame, but long-gop 100 Mbits is the superior codec everybody likes to shoot with.
Max Petin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2010, 04:33 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Long GOP vs I-Frame (Intra)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Petin View Post
Hi Perrone, you are right with I-frame, but long-gop 100 Mbits is the superior codec everybody likes to shoot with.
...Hey Max: Long GOP is only superior in that it can give the same resolution with a smaller file size. This is not to say that I-Frame is visually inferior to Long GOP per se. In fact, Long GOP and I-Frame produce identical image quality results once you get to data rates of 220 Mbps or higher (280 Mbps).
Mark Job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2010, 03:38 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
He wants to know if MC can use 100 Long GOP, not be convinced out of using it. Seems fair enough to me.
__________________
Avid Media Composer 3.1.3. Boris Red and Continuum Complete. Vegas 8.0c. TMPGEnc Xpress Pro 4.0
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2010, 05:59 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Long GOP 100 Mbps & Avid MC = No

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Moretti View Post
He wants to know if MC can use 100 Long GOP, not be convinced out of using it. Seems fair enough to me.
....Fine, then the answer would be a big no. Long GOP 100 Mbps is not supported in Avid Media Composer.
Mark Job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2010, 04:38 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Namsos Norway
Posts: 7
Hi Peter and Max, thanks for replying. I was just a bit sad cause I just bought the Mediacomposer and am about to buy the nanoflash. Looks like we have to wait a little until Avid might implement the 100Mbit/s MPEG II codec..
Max Petin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2010, 09:24 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Waiting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Petin View Post
Hi Peter and Max, thanks for replying. I was just a bit sad cause I just bought the Mediacomposer and am about to buy the nanoflash. Looks like we have to wait a little until Avid might implement the 100Mbit/s MPEG II codec..
...Hey Max: Don't hold your breath on that one ;-) Avid is notorious for its *slow* adoption of new codecs and formats. This slow adoption is one of many's main points of criticism for which the new Media Composer 5.0 is playing catch up for.
Mark Job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2010, 06:17 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York City
Posts: 23
We use the nano with MC 4.0.5 everyday. I was specifically interested in the new features announced at NAB for MC 5 and it's native support for R3D and QT via AMA. Apparently when you attach a source drive/card with compatible media, Avid automatically creates a bin and fill it with clips; no import necessary. I was just curious if this was going to be the case with the nano media. We're upgrading as soon as it's released so I'll be happy to report how the media is handled then.
Ted O'Brien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2010, 03:56 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Petin View Post
Hi Peter and Max, thanks for replying. I was just a bit sad cause I just bought the Mediacomposer and am about to buy the nanoflash. Looks like we have to wait a little until Avid might implement the 100Mbit/s MPEG II codec..
Max, you could in the meantime use the I-frame only vesions. I have to think the 220 I-frame will look as good if not better than the 100 Long-GOP.
__________________
Avid Media Composer 3.1.3. Boris Red and Continuum Complete. Vegas 8.0c. TMPGEnc Xpress Pro 4.0
Peter Moretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2010, 08:26 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
I-Frame is the workaround

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Moretti View Post
Max, you could in the meantime use the I-frame only vesions. I have to think the 220 I-frame will look as good if not better than the 100 Long-GOP.
....Yes. This will work, as I wrote earlier in this thread. I-Frame is a way to get Long GOP quality in AMC without the Long GOP incompatibility issues of AMC.
Mark Job is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2010, 02:39 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Friends,

We will be very happy when Avid supports all of our Long-GOP bit-rates.

While I do not have any actual knowledge of their code, I strongly feel that this is a very easy fix for them.

In Avid, it appears that they have a memory buffer to hold a "Group of Pictures". This buffer is larger enough to hold the entire GOP, but only if the bit-rate is 50 Mbps or slower.

Above 50 Mbps, the total size of the GOP is larger than their currently allocated memory buffer.

Thus, when one uses any of our bit-rates higher than 50 Mbps, the entire GOP is not contained in the buffer. This upsets the Avid program, as it was expected to be able to go back to the first frame or any frame in the current GOP. Thus, the Avid error message.

It could be as simple as Avid recompliing their program after increasing the size of the GOP memory buffer.

Or it could be a major hurdle if they can not increase the size of the memory buffer for some technical reason.

In any case, we will be very happy when Avid addresses this issue.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:10 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network