Real Problems Using NanoFlash with Varicam in PAL-land - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2010, 11:50 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Victoria Australia
Posts: 246
I don't think that will help Mark as unless the Avid is doing a broadcast standard conversion, there will be frame rate issues. (I always wonder why those Snell and Wilcox Alchemists cost a million bucks). It's not an easy thing to smoothly convert 60fps to 50fps. But I will investigate.

Cheers,
Peter
__________________
Peter Corbett
Powerhouse Productions www.php.com.au
Peter Corbett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 08:11 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
...on the other hand, converting 24 to 25fs is done all the time... A 4% audio pitch variation which can be compensated for...I know CineForm does it automatically in their conversion utility.

The problem is that the Varicam only does 720p, which means the only HD compliant video stream to travel over SDI is 720p60.

I wonder if the nano can sense the pulldown?
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 01:13 PM   #18
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Tim,

We can detect duplicate frames and remove them.

We do not rely on "Flagged" frames, we actually check if the frames are duplicates and remove them if Pulldown Removal is checked in the menu.

Dear Friends,

As always, we highly recommend performing tests with your equipment and workflow when trying something new.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2010, 02:31 PM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Will Confirm Broadcast Standard Conversion in Avid

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Corbett View Post
I don't think that will help Mark as unless the Avid is doing a broadcast standard conversion, there will be frame rate issues. (I always wonder why those Snell and Wilcox Alchemists cost a million bucks). It's not an easy thing to smoothly convert 60fps to 50fps. But I will investigate.

Cheers,
Peter
...Hey Peter: I'm pretty sure AMC will also format convert the NTSC piece to Pal and vice versa, but you have to edit in the format you recorded in first. Let me speak with another Avid Media Composer Broadcast editor I sometimes work with in the US and confirm this with him and get back to you. I'm still trying to reach him this week.
Mark Job is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network