nanoFlash Firmware 1.6.29 - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 13th, 2010, 10:26 AM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Lance,

We are working on profiles.

We think this will be a wonderful feature as one can rapidly switch from one set of options to another, as the conditions, or shooting conditions dictate,

For example, one could have a profile for over or under-cranking, one for time-lapse, one for 24p (or 23.976), etc.

Or one for Avid, one for Final Cut Pro.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2010, 10:46 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: White Rock
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Lance,

We are working on profiles.

We think this will be a wonderful feature as one can rapidly switch from one set of options to another, as the conditions, or shooting conditions dictate,

For example, one could have a profile for over or under-cranking, one for time-lapse, one for 24p (or 23.976), etc.

Or one for Avid, one for Final Cut Pro.
Thank you Dan!
That's a great idea and I welcome it very much. Set it ones and move from/to as need it. Awesome....
Luben Izov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 09:20 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Incline Village, Nevada
Posts: 604
Dan - this idea of "Profiles" is an excellent idea!
Now that the nano and XDR are so feature packed, it is easy to miss something in the heat of the production mode.

The ability to use Profiles would be greatly welcomed!
John Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 10:19 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southport, England
Posts: 621
Is the recommendation then to go and instal this new Firmware? Is it "necessary", "essential", "optional" w.h.y.?

Ron
Ronald Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 11:24 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Lance,

We are working on profiles.

We think this will be a wonderful feature as one can rapidly switch from one set of options to another,
Capital idea Dan. A thought... it might be useful from a "field" perspective to have a very strong indicator that the camera is not set up right to invoke all of the parameters of a particular profile. Something like the LCD display light flashing 3 times in relatively quick succession could be used with a second option being the lettering on the display flashing. Some may not want the display light blinking if they are in an darkened theater with an audience around.
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 11:50 AM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Jackson View Post
Is the recommendation then to go and instal this new Firmware? Is it "necessary", "essential", "optional" w.h.y.?

Ron
Dear Ron,

We are highly recommending that everyone upgrade to 1.6.29.

This release is the culmination of great efforts to increase the reliability of the nanoFlash.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2010, 06:33 PM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
great ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Lance,

We are working on profiles.

We think this will be a wonderful feature as one can rapidly switch from one set of options to another, as the conditions, or shooting conditions dictate,

For example, one could have a profile for over or under-cranking, one for time-lapse, one for 24p (or 23.976), etc.

Or one for Avid, one for Final Cut Pro.
Love this idea ... certainly would make things easier!
__________________
Sony EX3, Panasonic DVX 100, SG Blade, Nanoflash, FCP 7, MacBookPro intel.
http://www.deanharringtonvisual.com/
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2010, 07:19 AM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Dear Dan,

Noticed that the Auto Sleep function is disabled in the last firmware. The manual says this is temporarilly. When is it expected to be fixed?
Going on an expedition with no excess to power sources for charging batteries, so any battery energy is very precious. Thus is the Auto Sleep function. Any advice on to what firmware to downgrade to solve this problem?

Cees
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2010, 07:24 AM   #24
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Cees,

We want to re-enable this just as soon as possible.

This has been a very elusive bug for us.

In our testing, the nanoFlash, with the Power Save enabled, fails to properly come out of Power Save mode, about 1 out of every 250 times. While this is relatively rare, we just do not want this to ruin someone's shoot.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2010, 07:34 AM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Is it 1 out of every 250 shots or 1 out of every 250 nanoflashes? I had no problems with it with the former firmware and it is very important for me to safe every amp of power in the african interior. Do you expect it will be fixed within about 5 weeks? If not, what firmware release do you advise?
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2010, 07:56 AM   #26
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Cees,

It is appproximately one out of every 250 times for each nanoFlash.

This is some obsure timing issue.

We highly recommend using 1.6.29 (or a higher version) as numerous issues were corrected in this release. Our previous releases allow you to use Power Save.

Yes, we hope to have this fixed in five weeks. But, we have to find this elusive problem first.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2010, 09:11 AM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Arica-Chile
Posts: 41
Dear Dan:

Since We don`t have the auto power off function, and the problem is not isoleted yet, is it posible to assign a combination of keystrokes to send it to low power mode and bring it back as needed, meanwhile the next firmware corrects the problem, (Just a suggestion - Question).

greetings
Julio Veas
Valdivia - Chile
Julio Veas P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2010, 10:39 AM   #28
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Julio,

We considered that, but in our analysis, it would not help.

The problem occurs when we come out of "Power Save".

It is not obvious that the nanoFlash did not come out of "Power Save" properly, thus you could come out of "Power Save" and not be able to record successfully.

The alternative at this time is to just remove power from the nanoFlash, then reapply it when you are ready. Since the settings are saved, and since the nanoFlash powers up quickly, this procedure may be acceptable, at this time, for some, but not for others.

Note: The currently disabled "Power Save" feature worked by sensing that the HD-SDI signal was missing, thus one had to turn off the camera to go into "Power Save".

With it disabled, one has to turn off the camera and then remove power from the nanoFlash.

We definitely want to fix this as soon as possible since "Power Save" is such a nice feature, but it has to work perfectly to be useful.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2010, 04:25 PM   #29
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 480
Gee guys, I'm all for Feature Bloat! Dan and the C-D crew, please keep piling on more and more features that make the Nano Flash one of the truly amazing and versatile HD recorders in the world today. I for one am not having any problems navigating the Nano Flash menus as much as say the menus for a Sony F35 or Arri Alexa cameras.
Bruce Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2010, 04:04 AM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Dear Dan,

You mentioned you are working on profiles. Please do not only include video settings, but also system settings to be set in the profile. I like to be able to switch between profile with LongGop 100Mb/s @ 25P to I-Fo higher bit rates @ 60P as easy as possible (for the purpose of slomo with sound). This requires change of settings in both video and system menu.

Please also keep us informed about restoring the Auto Save option. I desperately need it.
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network