crackling audio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 28th, 2010, 02:27 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
crackling audio

On using the nano today when playing back clips the audio had a crackling noise I shot at 180mbs i-frame emmbeded audio

Any ideas
Thanks
Ian
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2010, 02:55 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
On watching more clips aswell as the crackling peoples voices are in slowmotion????
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2010, 03:29 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Ian,

How was the audio provided to the nanoFlash, HD-SDI or via the 3.5mm Analog Audio Input?

What type of audio was provided, mic or line.

Where you using over and under-cranking?

Where you recording MOV, MXF or MPG.

Did you monitor the audio during recording via the headphone jack.

Was the nanoFlash securely mounted to your camera, or was it separate?
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2010, 03:46 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
Hi Dan

1 HD-SDI
2I INTERNAL MIC
3 NO
4 MOV
5 NO
6 CONECTED VI HAWKS-WOOD ADAPTER

thanks Dan
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2010, 05:29 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Ian,

Thank you, that helps.

Since the audio was sent to the nanoFlash as audio embedded in the HD-SDI stream we know that the camera is primarly responsible for the audio,

The audio will be processed by the camera, then digitized, then sent digitally over HD-SDI, with the nanoFlash stuffing the digital audio into the recording along with the video. There is little chance of the nanoFlash, as far as I know, of introducing crackling audio, as we do not manipulate the audio samples.

Firmware release 1.6.29 has been thoroughly tested by us and in the field and it would be highly unlikely that our firmware to process the digital audio and put it into the very widely used ".MOV" file type would be at fault.

What concerns me is your comment: "On watching more clips aswell as the crackling peoples voices are in slowmotion???? " I do not know what would cause slowmotion in audio.

If you were over or under-cranking, then I would have different answers.

May I suggest a test?

Setup your camera as before.
Monitor the headphone output from your camera and listen for clean audio.
Monitor the headphone output from your nanoFlash and listen for clean audio.
Then playback from the nanoFlash and listen for clean audio.

7. In the nanoFlashes audio menu, was it set for 2 Channels of Audio?
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 03:26 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
Thanks Dan

First the crackling appears on both my EX1+3 both audio from the cameras monitered vi headphones is ok

Just done a test with the EX3 and nano the audio recorded on the nano is slowmotion with some crackle

on the card in the camera is fine

The camera is recording at 1080 / 50i on the nano the audio is set to IN EMBEDDED REC CHANNELS 2 and MONITER CHANNELS 1+2 1080i 50 at 140mbs
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 03:37 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: White Rock
Posts: 254
firmware 1.6.29

Hi Ian,
It sounds like you maybe running an old firmware on the NF. Would you please confirm that you have installed 1.6.29 from CD - Downloads | Convergent Design | Professional Video Recorders and Converters
If you do have the latest firmware.., well as you said your NF could be troubled...
Cheers
Luben Izov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 03:55 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
thanks Luben

I only bought the nano 2wks ago and no i have not downloaded any upgrades i though mine was the new one, how do you find out if it has the new upgrade and i have downloaded the new one on to my computer but am a bit wary of making things worse
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 04:00 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: White Rock
Posts: 254
Two weeks is very new.... go to Settings/About and look for Firmware 1.6.29 - any other has some bugs that have be resolved with 1.6.29
Please advise
Cheers
Luben Izov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 04:13 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
Luben

Can't seem t find settings got System, Video, Audio
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 04:17 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: White Rock
Posts: 254
Hi Ian,
It is 2 AM in my world here and I need to get out of this office and go to bed. If you don't come with some conclusion about the firmware, Dan would be able to help you probably in about 2-3 Hours from now. I hope that you have an old Firmware installed (old stock) and when you flash the NF everything would come in place. Good luck Bro, I'll check some time later today how did you do with Dan.
Cheers
Luben Izov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 04:18 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: White Rock
Posts: 254
Sorry Ian, I guess I said Settings instead of System - go to System/About
Luben Izov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 04:19 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
ok thanks for your help

Ian
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 04:22 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: York, North Yorkshire, England.
Posts: 466
Luben

Found it the firmware is 1.6.29
__________________
Ian Thomas.
Thomas Video Productions
Ian Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 04:28 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: White Rock
Posts: 254
Glad you did Ian!
Dan will take care from here for you. I would suggest Read the manual (it takes 15min) check your NF settings again with the manual and be ready for an "interrogation" ;-) from Dan. If he can't help you with bloging he would probably call you and resolve the problem if is resolvable over phone.
Good luck Ian
Cheers
Luben Izov is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network