Time Code? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 5th, 2011, 09:39 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hobe Sound, Florida
Posts: 213
Time Code?

Dan, Can TC from one Nano be out putted to another?
Dennis Dillon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2011, 04:04 PM   #2
Sponsor: Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 166
TimeCode

Hello Dennis,

To answer your Question Timecode can be sent from one unit to another Embedded via the SDI Stream, But maybe my Question is are you trying to loop threw one unit into another? which can be done easily.

Or are you asking about the internal timecode? Which can be set for seed or time of day, but for it to increment, the unit which is outputting would have to be recording.

Without knowing more parameters its kind of a tricky question, feel free to post or email me directly, andy"at"convergent-design.com

Best Regards
__________________
Andy Mangrum, Tech Support Convergent Design, Inc
Andy Mangrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2011, 10:23 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hobe Sound, Florida
Posts: 213
Andy,
Thanks. I'm trying to have the exact same TC on two or three Nanos without using a lock it box or other TC gen. I thought with the 3D Nano config., TC might have been looped from one to the other via the 10 pin.
Dan has responded off line and confirmed Im buying a TC Gen. Oh well.
Dennis Dillon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2011, 04:01 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Dennis,

If possible, could you provide more details?

You are a camera expert, so please forgive the following questions.

We have not been able to fiqure out why some of the normal setups would not work for you, based on the information you provided in your email.

If you are using two professional cameras, the HD-SDI outputs have timecode.

If the pro cameras can be cabled together, then timecode out of one can go into the second one.

And one timecode source can be feed into two nanoFlashes using a very low cost BNC "Tee".
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2011, 03:08 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 146
Splitting TC

When you split a time code signal with a t-connector, the 1 volt signal is cut in half. Most cameras have no problem with this, but it CAN be an issue with some, so I recommend thorough testing. A 'legal' TC signal is 1V. 1/2V is not.
__________________
nanoFlash Dealer \ nanoFlash 3D, AJA Kona 3G, DeckLink HD Extreme 3D +, Nuke
3D film/video production since 1972
Daniel Symmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2011, 05:56 PM   #6
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
If you are using two professional cameras, the HD-SDI outputs have timecode. .
I think I understand what Dennis is asking. Suppose you have two EX1s each feeding a Nano and you want matching TC on both. How would you jam sync the timecode on the two Nanos? The EX1s don't have any TC outputs or inputs of their own. Is this even possible?
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2011, 10:27 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Doug,

Dennis's original post stated that he did not want to use a timecode generator.

Here are the options as I see it
(for cameras such as the Sony EX1's or EX1R's without timecode inputs or outputs):

1. One can turn on both cameras, connect HD-SDI to the two nanoFlashes, then using any timecode source, jam-sync one nanoFlash then the other. This requires one of our timecode input cables.
The timecode source can then be removed.

If the cameras are turned off, then jam-sync again.

But, this does require a timecode source to perform the jam-sync.

2. Or set the internal clocks on the nanoFlashes as close as possible, then use internal timecode on both.
One can use our Time of Day Internally generated timecode on both nanoFlashes.

Or if one has a timecode source, connect the timecode source to both nanoFlashes by using a BNC Tee.

(The LTC signal is similar to an audio signal, and it does with multiple nanoFlashes when using a BNC Tee. The Timecode BNC input on the nanoFlash is specially designed to all this to work. The Timecode Input on the nanoFlash is a high-impedence input.)
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network