E to E output to HDMI with source as HD-SDI at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2011, 05:06 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
E to E output to HDMI with source as HD-SDI

I don't have an HDMI based monitor to test this out so I have a question about monitoring from the HDMI port on the nanoFlash.

The scenario. Getting an HD-SDI signal into the nanoFlash, can one have it set up with E to E output and get a monitor out signal on the HDMI port and can one use both the HD-SDI and HDMI output ports concurrently?

This will be an important feature for Sony F3 users especially if Sony does not update the camera firmware to allow simultaneous use of the HD-SDI and HDMI ports when recording.
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2011, 07:44 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Andrew,

If we leave out the E to E part, the answer is easy:

If one inputs HDMI, one gets HDMI and HD-SDI outputs simultaneously.

If one inputs HD-SDI, one get HDMI and HD-SDI outputs simultaneously.

With E to E active, the answer is the same.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2011, 10:05 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
Thanks Dan. This will be welcome news to would be owners of the Sony F3 who will for the most part be attaching one the new HDMI driven EVFs* on the market or an external monitor. Having both HDMI and HD-SDI as a monitor input option will allow people to choose from a broader spectrum of monitoring solutions.


*Electronic Viewfinder
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 02:26 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Dan, in these scenarios, is there any latency to the output image? I did a shoot recently and noticed the audio was delayed from the headphone output--is it the same delay with the image?
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 04:08 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Charles,

Our E to E Direct mode is designed specifically to reduce video latency to an absolute minimum.

For HD-SDI, this is almost as simple as HD-SDI In to HD-SDI out. A non-technical answer (a flippant answer, not an actual measured test, but based on how this works from our engineers) would be around 1 microsecond of video latency with E to E Direct enabled.

From a technical point of view, I do not know how much more processing is required to get the signal prepared for the HDMI output. If one has an HDMI and HD-SDI monitor, a visual test would be easy.

Without E to E Direct enabled, we have quite a lot of work to so, such as converting PSF to Progressive, processing audio, etc., which takes time, thus there is a noticable delay.

Are you using our latest firmware, 1.6.248?

Earlier firmware from early last year had high audio latency issues. We redesigned the code for lower audio latency.

Just to be clear, our E to E Direct mode lowers the latency for video, not for audio.

And, our audio headphone output and our level meters are both designed to allow you to check the audio, but are not designed as zero latency. Thus, generally, after one ensures that the audio is present and the levels are correct, I would recommend monitoring from the camera's audio out or a mixer's audio headphone out if one wants zero latency audio.

I hope this helps.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 10:35 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Good info there Dan. I've been meaning to test the Nanoflash on my DSLR setup as an HDMI to HD-SDI convertor for monitoring instead of the Blackmagic box. Obviously the NF is overkill for just that application, but the BM box is so flaky. Just wanted to make sure that latency wasn't an issue
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 06:43 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
I operate the nanoFlash in E to E mode almost exclusively with the output going to a Decimator and then to a std def monitor on a Steadicam. No latency. Granted this is with an HD-SDI source but I couldn't see the nanoFlash adding latency with an HDMI source.
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network