Nano3D - problems with Anaglyph & SidexSide at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2011, 09:03 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 480
Nano3D - problems with Anaglyph & SidexSide

As well as Line by Line displaying at all on a 2D monitor.

I've been told by Dan K. just what the secret sauce is for getting these features to display on a 2D monitor, but for the life of me I can't remember the exact secrets to get it working.

I can't remember if E to E should be on or off, should something be set on the non-3D activated unit, etc. Anyone write this down perhaps? A sticky? It's not in the manual because I did RTFM.
Attached Images
 
Bruce Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2011, 09:28 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Bruce,

Here is my advice.

Set on E to E Direct set to the same value both the Master and Slave Units.

(See my notes below from a shoot with two Sony F35's, where I had E to E Direct Off. It may work to have E to E Direct on also, but both units have to be setup the same.)

On the Master Unit, Enable 3D

On the Master Unit, Enable Combine, Side by Side, Anaglyph or Line by Line.

If the cameras are gen-locked, truely gen-clocked (and not just using the same timecode), then you should see Side by Side, Anaglyph or Line by Line, output of the Master Unit's HD-SDI output.

(The 9" HDMI cable must be connected from the Slave HDMI Out to the Master HDMI In.)

If the cameras are not gen-locked, then you will see the "Left Eye" only outof the Master Unit's HD-SDI output.

I was traveling yesterday and did not have access to the internet or my phones.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here is a setup that I used to record 3D using two Sony F35's at 1080p24.
(Genlock is critical to use our Combine Function)

System Menu

Max Files Size 100%

Source SDI

File, on Left, set 1L then the clip number, then 001.MOV or MXF (your choice depending on your editor)

Trigger: Remote Record

Duration: Unchecked

Timecode: Source: LTC (Send timecode to nano3D via BNC timecode input on the Remote Control cable)

Timecode: Source Embedded (if appropriate)

Source: SDI

Prebuffer off

Power Saving: Off

Video Menu

Bit-Rate: Your choice over 140 Mbps

Codec: I-Frame

Record PSF>Prog Off

Play PSF> Prog Off (Very Important)

Remove 3:2 Pulldown Off

720p 60/50 >30/25 Off

E to E Direct: Off

T-Lapse Off

Crank Off

Screen Tally Off

Flip V (as desired on left and right)

Flip H (as desired on left and right)

Video 3D Menu

Enable (on Master Unit Only) Off on Slave

Combine: Side by Side

Record Combined: Off

Play Ref: Ext (HDMI) on Master, Int on Slave

Frame Shift 0 (Must be zero if you wish to use any Combine Function other than Side by Side)

Audio:

As desired

Bruce, please feel free to call me.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2011, 03:29 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 480
I followed your chart. I got things working when;

* E to E must be off on both Master & Slave.
* Play Prog>PSF must be off on Slave but can be either on or off on Master. (A little odd, but since it's a playback function and not record I'm not going to stress about one unit having non-identical settings to the other.)
* Remove 3:2 Pulldown can be either on or off on both units
* Screen Tally can be either on or off on both units
* Record PSF>Prog can be on or off on both units

BTW, I was doing this with the NF3D's hooked up to a Panasonic 3DA1 so genlock was not an issue. Item #2 seemed to be the big obstacle to success.
Bruce Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2011, 03:58 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Bruce,

On the Slave unit, Item 2, Video|Play Prog>PSF must be off for 24p.

It will not work, with 1080p24 sources, in Combine Mode, if it is on.

I am glad you have it working.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2011, 04:29 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 480
Yes, it was that oddity of one NF having a different setting than the other in 24P mode that caused the problems.

Thanks for your insight.
Bruce Schultz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network