Echo or Reverb Problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 15th, 2011, 06:28 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Audio Goes Out of Sync

I shot a 20min video today using 220Mb I-frame with 32GB SanDisk Extreme cards and an EX3. I just began editing it and the 2 tracks of audio go out of sync periodically. (I use Premiere Pro CS5 5.0.3)

Here is the first clip recorded and half way through, you hear the echo. Just checked all the footage and only this first clip has a problem. The original SxS recording is fine. Why is this happening?

The image is a view of the waveform right where it begins to go out of sync.

Attached Thumbnails
Echo or Reverb Problem-echo.jpg  

Last edited by Steve Kalle; March 15th, 2011 at 11:24 PM.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2011, 08:00 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Australia
Posts: 371
Re: Echo or Reverb Problem

Hey Steve try playing the clip back out of the Nanoflash direct to a monitor to see if the audio issue is still there.
This way you will know if it's a Nanoflash issue or a Premiere Pro CS5.
Cheers
Lance Librandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2011, 11:08 AM   #3
Sponsor: Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 166
Re: Echo or Reverb Problem

Hello Steve,

Do you know what Firmware Version was on the nanoFlash? This is found under System>About

I would Try playing out of the nanoFlash, or with Sony XDCAM Viewer, to see if the Audio Echo is indeed in the File Itself.

Also Feel free to Email or Call us Directly, 720-221-3861, -Or- cdsupport "at" convergent-design.com

Also was this recorded with Analog Audio or Embedded from the Camera?

Thanks
__________________
Andy Mangrum, Tech Support Convergent Design, Inc
Andy Mangrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2011, 04:39 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Re: Echo or Reverb Problem

Just played from the nanoFlash and did not hear any echo so it must be an Adobe issue. The audio is embedded from an EX3.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2011, 08:11 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Australia
Posts: 371
Re: Echo or Reverb Problem

Hey Steve it may not be a problem with Adobe. I have seen the same thing on other NLE's and it turned out to be an audio mixer issue between input and output.
Cheers.
Lance Librandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2011, 02:48 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Re: Echo or Reverb Problem

Well, I found the audio out of sync yet again on a shoot from 2 weeks ago. This time, I used 50Mb L-GOP. Everything else was the same. This is very frustrating and makes me not want to use my nanoFlash.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2011, 05:25 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Echo or Reverb Problem

Dear Steve,

Please send me a private message.

I will ask Andy to contact you and provide a way to upload one of your files to our server.

Then we can check for the audio problem in the file itself.

But, if the file plays find in the nanoFlash, the problem may not be in our file.

But, we can upload your problem file to our copy of Adobe.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2011, 05:48 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,554
Re: Echo or Reverb Problem

Thanks Dan.

So far, it plays fine through my Panasonic BT-LH1710W HD-SDI monitor but I don't know if this monitor plays both audio channels. I can test playback using my Sony HDTV via HDMI but I have to copy the file back to the CF card. So, is there any special process for copying - do I just copy the file into the main folder?

PS I did a quick shoot today at 50Mb L-GOP and it works fine in Premiere Pro.

I just went back to the clip from earlier today and now it is in sync. Only thing I can think of is Premiere had to re-conform these files, and maybe this is where the Adobe software is going awry.
Steve Kalle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2011, 01:30 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Echo or Reverb Problem

Dear Steve,

Copying a file back to a CompactFlash card should be performed with our File Converter, if on a Mac.

I assume that you are on a PC.

On a Mac, this prevents fragmented files.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:03 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network