HDMI output corrupted at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 16th, 2011, 03:03 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
HDMI output corrupted

I'm very baffled with this. Unless it's a hardware malfunction, I am utterly clueless.

The following scenarios work OK:

EX1R SDI out to nano SDI in to HDMI out to LCD TV. Picture quality looks great when monitoring on TV.
EX1R HDMI out to nano HDMI in to HDMI out to LCD TV. Picture quality looks horrible... many dropped frames, distortion, etc.

All wires are fine because they all work perfectly independantly. Is there something I'm missing?
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2011, 05:22 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vientiane (Lao PDR)
Posts: 349
Re: HDMI output corrupted

Any problem on recording through both interfaces?
rafael
Rafael Amador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2011, 06:23 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: HDMI output corrupted

Dear Martin,

What frame rate are you using? An example would be 1080p24.

What settings were you using in the nanoFlash (mainly in the video menu)?

Martin, please feel free to call me at my regular number.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2011, 05:30 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Re: HDMI output corrupted

Raphael,

That's the funny thing. The recorded footage looks perfect with both SDI and HDMI inputs. The monitoring only seems funky when I use HDMI as source (SDI looks flawless). Unfortunately at this time I cannot test the SDI output as my DP6 monitor had to be sent back for repairs (DOA).

Dan,

Thanks for offering to help. I feel like I've pestered you enough lately so I hoped it was just a oversight on my part rather than a technical issue.

I have tested different camera settings, but let's stick with 1080 60i for sake of testing. I've tested so many combinations of settings on the nanoflash, all with the same (bad) monitoring results using HDMI as input source. However on the flip side, all these various setting combinations did NOT adversely affect the output quality of the SDI input (with the exception of 'record psf' where I guess it assumes you're using a progressive source but I think that's probably normal).

Here is a short video (to be uploaded within 1 hour of this post) of the HDMI output so you can see what I had difficulty describing in my OP. http://www.mgxproductions.com/nano.wmv or http://www.mgxproductions.com/nano.mov
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 04:15 PM   #5
Sponsor: Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 166
Re: HDMI output corrupted

Hello

While recording with the HDMI input, does the nanoFlash display any errors such as Lost SRC?

OR does the image cut out without moving the camera or any cables?

Also have you tried using E to E direct to see that makes any Difference?

Best Regards
__________________
Andy Mangrum, Tech Support Convergent Design, Inc
Andy Mangrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2011, 06:54 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Re: HDMI output corrupted

Hi Andy,

Nope, no errors. It recognizes the input format. It doesn't matter what I do - leave the camera still, move it around, fiddle with the cables, leave the cables alone - same result unfortunately. Yes, I've tried E to E all that really does is increase/decrease the latency from what I can tell (I have not even researched to see what E to E is actually for).

Thanks,
Martin
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 09:36 AM   #7
Sponsor: Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Colorado Springs Colorado
Posts: 166
Re: HDMI output corrupted

Hello Martin,

E to E direct, does not modify the original signal that is feed to the nanoFlash, take for example if you are recording 1080p23.98, typically you need to enable the 3:2 Removal, So you output, would be 1080p23.98, if you turn on E to E direct, then your output would be 1080i59.94.

If you would email me directly, @ cdsupport"at"Convergent Design.com

Best Regards
__________________
Andy Mangrum, Tech Support Convergent Design, Inc
Andy Mangrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 12:20 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 26
Re: HDMI output corrupted

Hi Andy,

Thanks for the explanation!
Martin Kolditz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network