No more Power Button? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2012, 12:59 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
No more Power Button?

I just got my NanoFlash back from servicing and I see there's no power button on it anymore. Would that theoretically mean the power switching is now determined by the sleep mode and/or the power source?

Sorry if this is a knee-jerk reaction, the reason why I brought this up was the older model nanoFlash I sent in for servicing still had the power button.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2012, 02:05 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: No more Power Button?

Dear Jack,

There are multiple reasons for this.

1. We found the power button to be unreliable.

When this fails, you could not turn on the nanoFlash.

2. More importantly, camera operators would setup their nanoFlashes to trigger automatically on rolling timecode.

Then, in the heat of a shoot, they would replace the camera's battery, but fail to power on the nanoFlash again. Thus, long hours of shooting would be lost since the nanoFlash was powered off.

Since we don't want your shoot to be harmed by (1) or (2) above, we disable the power switch.

You may setup the nanoFlash to automatically go into very low power mode when you power off your camera. This works for HD-SDI and SD-SDI, but not for HDMI.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2012, 06:41 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: No more Power Button?

Thank you for explaining this, Dan. I can see how a simple switch failing can truly be a make or break.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2012, 07:31 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: No more Power Button?

Dear Jack,

Yes, a failure to power on any production device could be a major problem.

Thanks for your understanding.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network