Codec Error at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 9th, 2012, 08:02 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 47
Codec Error

On a job out of town and on the second day of shooting, our nanoflash displays "codec error." It worked flawlessly the first day and no settings have changed. I have swapped out my cards and reset the nanoflash but still get the error.
Mike Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2012, 07:38 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Incline Village, Nevada
Posts: 604
Re: Codec Error

Are you sure you don't have some kind of mismatch between what the camera is outputting and what the Nano is set to accept?
John Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2012, 09:09 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Codec Error

Dear Mike,

Based on previous experience, I assume that you are shooting on a Sony FS100.

And you have the HDMI output set to 1080p, please set it to 1080i.

While this is completely counter-intuitive, the 1080p setting outputs 1080p60 over HDMI which is too much data for the nanoFlash, resulting in the codec error.

When you set this to 1080i, you will actually be outputing PSF (and not interlaced).
(PSF is Progressive Segmented Frames, which looks like interlaced to monitors, but it is not.)

Thus, you should use the proper settings in the Video Menu.

For 1080p29.97 and 1080p30, set the camera accordingly, then
please set Video|Record PSF>Prog

The same applies for 1080p25.

For 1080p23.976 and 1080p24, set the camera accordingly, then
please set Video|3:2 Pulldown Removal.

If you want 1080i50, 1080i59.94 or 1080i60, set the camera accordingly,
then uncheck the above menu items.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2012, 08:30 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Incline Village, Nevada
Posts: 604
Re: Codec Error

Dan:

I think a lot of us would really appreciate the posting of download files that are sorted by camera.

Those setup profiles could then be loaded onto compact flash cards to correctly set up the NanoFlash or XDR. It would take away a lot of the trial and error and confusion.

I know, I know ... read the darn manual.
John Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2012, 09:03 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Codec Error

Dear John,

Good Morning!

This is really a camera setup issue as we don't support 1080p60 in the nanoFlash.
We will in the Gemini 4:4:4, from HD-SDI, starting next week with our new firmware release.

But, we could create setup files for:

1080p25,29.97 and 1080p30
1080p23.976/24 when the camera is outputting 23.976 (23.98)/24 without pulldown
1080p23.976/24 with pulldown (so we would enable 3:2 pulldown removal)
1080i50, 59.94, 60
720p23.976/24 without pulldown
720p23.976/24 with pulldown
720p25, 29.97, 30
720p50, 59.94, 60

John, I think you have a good idea.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2012, 09:28 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 47
Re: Codec Error

The camera is a JVC Gy-Hm700.

NOTHING had changed on settings from the first day to the second day of shooting. The camera was set at 1081i 60 (.mov) feeding the nano via SDI and the nanoflash what recording it just fine. The second day we received the "codec error.
Mike Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2012, 10:20 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Codec Error

Dear Mike,

Thank you for the additional information.

I have never seen a "Codec Error" message in any case other than when the nanoFlash was sent a frame rate higher than 1080p30.

Could you please call our Support Team, and we can trouble shoot this with you?

(I am leaving on a trip right now and will be out of touch for a while.)

Please see all of the phone numbers at the bottom on this page.

Support | Convergent Design
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2012, 08:48 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Incline Village, Nevada
Posts: 604
Re: Codec Error

Dan - those downloadable setup files would be awesome!

Mike - one other thing to try is swapping out cables - sometimes they go wonky and cause problems - had that happen myself.
But by all means, call CD Support - they are wonderful. CD is the most responsive manufacturer we have ever dealt with - they truly take action that tells you that they know their customers are the boss. You won't be dissatisfied.
John Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2012, 09:15 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Codec Error

Dear Mike,

You may call me today at my 719 number.

All of our support numbers are listed at the bottom of this page:

Support | Convergent Design
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2012, 07:04 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Re: Codec Error

I’m too am having problems with "codec error", but in my case it is with trying to record SD PAL in some configurations onto my Nanoflash.

My goal is to take 1080/50i files previously recorded with the Nanoflash (from a Sony EX3) and convert them using my Matrox MXO2LE to SD PAL. Viewed on my HDMI monitor (HDMI-out set on the Matrox to SD channel) those SD files look clean and crisp. An excellent down convert.

I tried connecting the matrox to the Nanoflash via HDMI, but the Nano refuses to recognize the incoming signal. The Nanoflash read-out (on the bottom line of the display) says “no SRC” and “codec errors” on the top line. But if I switch the Matrox video out to HD, then the Nanoflash happily recognizes the incoming video as 1080i.

So I tried recording that SD stream onto the Nanoflash using an SDI connection instead. This time the Nanoflash accepted the SD stream but the resulting files looked soft. About as soft as exporting those HD files from an FCP timeline as prores PAL. Not particularly good.

So my two questions are

1. Why does the SD-SDI stream when recorded onto the Nanoflash look soft?
2. Why won’t the Nanoflash recognize the HDMI SD stream?

I should add that I normally output SD-SDI from the ex3 and record direct onto the Nano using an SDI connection and the results are fine.


Macbook pro 15””
Mac OS X 10.7.4
FCP 7.0.3
Matrox MXO2LE Firmware version 34.0, software 2.3.3.0016
Richard Corfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2012, 11:35 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Padua/Venice - Italy
Posts: 131
Re: Codec Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Corfield View Post
I’m too am having problems with "codec error", but in my case it is with trying to record SD PAL in some configurations onto my Nanoflash.


2. Why won’t the Nanoflash recognize the HDMI SD stream?
still waiting for an answer here... i hope it will be OK with the next promised after NAB firmware,look here:
http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/converge...1-6-248-a.html
__________________
PDW-F800.PXW-X200.Odyssey7Q+.A7S.www.videoshot.it-Videoshot
Samer Aslan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2012, 10:58 PM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Re: Codec Error

Ah, I'm not alone!

Thank you, Samer, for the link to the thread. I am on firmware 1.6.248. So all is now explained. i'll try a different firmware when i get the chance, and keep in touch with developments.
Richard Corfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2012, 01:26 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: Codec Error

I believe there is a limit of 3 firmware upgrades per unit. If you go beyond that, you're then officially stuck to that firmware unless you send it into Convergent.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 02:25 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Re: Codec Error

Oh dear! Well, I decided anyway to return the firmware to vers 1.6.29 as Samer's link suggested. That's my second update. One to go!

This time the Nanoflash did recognise my SD signal from the Matrox. But only if i set the HDMI out in the Matrox preferences to YUV. Wouldn't recognise RGB native for some reason. I made a recording but all the colours were back to front, and something weird happened with the sound. But I could see enough to confirm that there was the same softening of the image as when I recorded via SDI.

But I would like to know why the Nanoflash appears to soften the image when recording Standard Definition.
Richard Corfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 07:35 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Codec Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Zhang View Post
I believe there is a limit of 3 firmware upgrades per unit. If you go beyond that, you're then officially stuck to that firmware unless you send it into Convergent.
Dear Friends,

I have been traveling so I am late in responding.

There is no limit on the number of times one may update the firmware in the nanoFlash.

And you may go directly from any firmware version to any other firmware version. One can install a previous firmware version, if desired.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network