Camera recording to SD will Nanoflash record HD? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2013, 11:33 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 904
Re: Camera recording to SD will Nanoflash record HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
That would mean that you were triggering on incrementing timecode.

This will work, if the camera outputs timecode when in HD-SDI or SD-SDI mode.

Since you were in SD, timecode may or may not have been coming over the SD-SDI signal.




Do you mean via SD-SDI or HDMI? I assume that it was SD-SDI since you answered Yes to Question 2.

Did you have Video|E to E Direct on?

SD over HDMI is not supported in the nanoFlash, but it may have worked if E to E Direct was on, and it was a frame rate and mode supported by the projector.

SD over SD-SDI should have worked, if E to E Direct was on, and may have worked if E to E Direct was off, depending on the frame rate/mode and other settings,
[/QUOTE]

Sorry for the delay,

Yes, SD over SDI.

E to E direct is not on, (not ticked)

Thanks Dan.
Anthony McErlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2013, 08:18 AM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Camera recording to SD will Nanoflash record HD?

Dear Anthony,

If you are in a position to do so, please test with Video|E to E Direct| On (Checked)

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2013, 05:02 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 904
Re: Camera recording to SD will Nanoflash record HD?

Thanks Dan, will try that too.
Anthony McErlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2013, 11:23 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 904
Re: Camera recording to SD will Nanoflash record HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Mitchell View Post
Anthony - you have to set this up in camera. Set your camera to record in HD then set the SDI output to downconvert to SD (usually squeeze for 16x9) - the nano should then recognise the SD signal automatically.
Hello John,
Had a looks at the SDI out settings from my PMW320 but don't see where I can change it to SD.
Down converter is already set at squeeze.

Thanks.
Anthony McErlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2013, 11:30 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 904
Re: Camera recording to SD will Nanoflash record HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Anthony,

If you are in a position to do so, please test with Video|E to E Direct| On (Checked)

Respectfully,
Dan, I tested with E to E Direct checked but still cant get SD out from the NF while the camera is set to HD.
Perhaps I'm doing something wrong?

Thank you.
Anthony McErlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2013, 06:29 AM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Camera recording to SD will Nanoflash record HD?

Dear Anthony,

You stated that you can't get SD out of the nanoFlash while the camera is set to HD.

Is the camera outputting SD over the HD-SDI output that you are using to feed the nanoFlash?

If you connect this HD-SDI cable to a monitor do you see SD?

The nanoFlash cannot downconvert HD to SD.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2013, 11:28 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 904
Re: Camera recording to SD will Nanoflash record HD?

Hello Dan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
The nanoFlash cannot downconvert HD to SD.
Respectfully,
That must be the problen then.

The only way I can get the NF to record in SD is when the camera is set to SD.

It looks like I need a Mini converter of some sort then, to let me output to SD while the camera records in HD.

Thanks Dan for all your help.
Anthony McErlean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2013, 04:43 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Padua/Venice - Italy
Posts: 131
Re: Camera recording to SD will Nanoflash record HD?

Hi Anthony,
I have the PMW350 and almost 90% of my works are done paired with a nano flash, I either record SD or HD on the nano flash, depends on client's needs, on board (sxs) I always record HD.
Never had problems to do that and I have done it a lot with the sd option!
When you set in the menu Input/Output: the Output& i.LINK to sd & dv the nano flash automatically detect the sd signal mode and i record mxf 50mb sd...I know it's stupid to say but did you check that you have the sdi output set to ON!?
regards
Samer
__________________
PDW-F800.PXW-X200.Odyssey7Q+.A7S.www.videoshot.it-Videoshot
Samer Aslan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:34 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network