I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 22nd, 2013, 09:05 PM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Efland NC, USA
Posts: 2,315
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Schell View Post
Hi Walter-
Thanks for the feedback. We are trying to rearrange the recording options based on specific cameras. So, we'll have an ARRI Alexa, Sony FS700, Sony F3, Canon C300, Canon C500,etc packages. Basically each package will enable all the functions of a given camera, to the extend they are supported by the Odyssey. For example the Canon C500 will include 4K/QHD Raw, 2K/HD RGB 444 @ 10/12-bit, etc.

Do you think this would clarify the issue?
That sounds like a much more logical approach to me. Thumbs up from Efland NC.
__________________
http://www.LandYachtMedia.com
Chris Medico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2013, 09:13 PM   #17
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Medico View Post
That sounds like a much more logical approach to me. Thumbs up from Efland NC.
Hi Chris-
Thanks. BTW, we go our first RAW image off the FS700 today, recording at 240fps. The image looked good, but we will need to add viewing LUTs for proper display on the OLED monitor. Adobe Premiere debayered the cinema .dng file and produced a perfect image.

More info and images coming soon.
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2013, 03:02 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 144
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Schell View Post
Hi Chris-
Thanks. BTW, we go our first RAW image off the FS700 today, recording at 240fps. The image looked good, but we will need to add viewing LUTs for proper display on the OLED monitor. Adobe Premiere debayered the cinema .dng file and produced a perfect image.

More info and images coming soon.
That's great to hear Mike. Can't wait to see some images. Was this a 2K image? And was it a stream of images or just a single as your comment implies?

Thanks for keeping us updated on the process. Looking forward to seeing Odysseys out in the wild!
__________________
www.elkinseye.com
David Elkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2013, 03:14 PM   #19
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Elkins View Post
That's great to hear Mike. Can't wait to see some images. Was this a 2K image? And was it a stream of images or just a single as your comment implies?

Thanks for keeping us updated on the process. Looking forward to seeing Odysseys out in the wild!
Hi David-
Yes, this was a 2K RAW video stream we captured (one file per frame). It debayered perfectly in Premiere or Resolve. We captured about a minute of video.

We can now announce that the 2K RAW data is 12-bit precision. The standard HD-SDI video, on the other hand, is limited to 8-bits.
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2013, 03:50 PM   #20
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Dear Friends,

We plan on showing an upgraded Sony FS700 + Odyssey7Q + FS700 Recording Option at Cine Gear Expo, in Hollywood, on Friday, May 31st and Saturday June 1st.

We plan to be recording 2K Raw, 12-Bit Linear, at 240 fps at the event.

This will be a hands-on event.

Our Booth is S222, on Sound Stage 32, on the Paramount Studios Lot in Hollywood.

We are across the isle from Sony, Booth S218.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2013, 04:57 PM   #21
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 20
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Is this with S-Log2, which supposedly comes with the update to do 4k?
Yash Bagwandeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2013, 05:45 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 144
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Schell View Post
The standard HD-SDI video, on the other hand, is limited to 8-bits.
Hmmm, that's disappointing to hear. This is from a Sony upgraded FS700?

Does anyone have any idea when Sony will start doing the upgrades?
__________________
www.elkinseye.com
David Elkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2013, 08:59 PM   #23
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Elkins View Post
Hmmm, that's disappointing to hear. This is from a Sony upgraded FS700?

Does anyone have any idea when Sony will start doing the upgrades?
Hi David-
Yes, this is from an upgraded FS700. We're hearing end of June for upgrades.
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2013, 09:00 PM   #24
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yash Bagwandeen View Post
Is this with S-Log2, which supposedly comes with the update to do 4k?
Hi Yash-
Yes, S-Log2 is included. As with any LUT, this is applied downstream from the RAW recording.
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2013, 09:53 AM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 144
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Mike,
I was wondering if you are still able to cache record 8 seconds (or any duration for that matter) when overcranking and going to the Odyssey? This has been an invaluable feature on the FS700 and would love to see this feature carried over.
Thanks.
__________________
www.elkinseye.com
David Elkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2013, 08:21 PM   #26
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Elkins View Post
Mike,
I was wondering if you are still able to cache record 8 seconds (or any duration for that matter) when overcranking and going to the Odyssey? This has been an invaluable feature on the FS700 and would love to see this feature carried over.
Thanks.
Hi David-
Just want to make sure I understand your question. When you mention over-cranking, are you referring to frame rates greater than 30fps (such as 60, 120 or 240fps). Or do you mean over-cranking in the more traditional sense in which you set the timeline to 24fps and then capture at higher frame rates (usually up to 60fps).

In either scenario, we will have a pre-record (cache) buffer of around 8 seconds, but only while recording in compressed mode, which is limited to 60fps. We don't have enough memory on board to cache RAW video as the data-rates are simply too high.
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2013, 08:14 AM   #27
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Dear David,

I would like to add some information to Mike's answer.

If you have the original FS700, you can record at high frame rates, for xx seconds.

Then the camera will output these images at 60 frames per second, typically 1080p60.

Our Odyssey7 and Odyssey7Q will be able to record these images since they can both record to a compressed codec (initially Avid DNxHD) from a 1080p60 input stream.

In the above case, no extra cost option is necessary, the ability to record up to 1080p60 is included in the Odyssey7 and Odyssey7Q. You, of course, will need at least one of our SSD's, in this case just one 240 GB SSD will work fine.

----------------------------

If you have the upgraded FS700, then our FS700 Recording Option comes into play, allowing you to record 2K Raw, in 12-Bit Linear, up to 240 fps continuously.

With one SSD, you can record up to 120 fps continuously.

With two SSD's, you can record up to 240 fps continuously.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2013, 12:32 AM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 144
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Thanks for your replies Mike & Dan. Pre-record is what I was curious about and I think Mike answered my question. For shooting slow motion I have found it to be an invaluable tool when trying to capture events that I am unsure when exactly they will happen.
__________________
www.elkinseye.com
David Elkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2013, 10:22 AM   #29
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Tinton Falls, NJ
Posts: 749
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
If you have the upgraded FS700, then our FS700 Recording Option comes into play, allowing you to record 2K Raw, in 12-Bit Linear, up to 240 fps continuously.

With one SSD, you can record up to 120 fps continuously.

With two SSD's, you can record up to 240 fps continuously.
Dan,
Would I be right to assume that if you record 240fps continuous on the Odyssey7Q it will be possible to play it back off the 7Q in full res at slo-mo speed? - thereby allowing selected sections to be transferred to another recording device such as a NanoFlash?
You may recall I did this type of thing with great success recording 1080p60 from the F3 to the Gemini, then playing selected clips back at 24p (2.5x slo-mo) and recording them onto my NanoFlash. (My client didn't want to deal with the large quantity of original data that we created win the Gemini - and our selective transfers meant he went into the edit room with what he needed, not all the extra footage he didn't want. Project worked out great. He even added some software-based slowing down in post for some of the shots)
Will different base playback speeds be possible (60p / 30p / 24p) for footage recorded at 120 or 240, or is the target playback rate burned in as part of the file header?
Thanks
Dave Sperling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29th, 2013, 10:36 AM   #30
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: I don't understand these costs for 2K raw with the Odyssey

Post Deleted, I accidently pressed enter too soon.

The complete post in the next post in this thread.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network