Odyssey7Q at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 3rd, 2013, 05:48 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 279
Odyssey7Q

Is it possible to record 1920 x 1080 60p with the Odyssey7Q on the Sony PMW- F3?
Rudy Wilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2013, 09:05 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bradford, United Kingdom
Posts: 17
Re: Odyssey7Q

According to CD, yes.

Odyssey7Q | OLED Monitor & Professional Recorder

I want to know what that 'Record Clean Video' feature is. This looks very promising, and I think CD will make a lot of money from it, good luck to them.

And the price has come down.

Odyssey7 and Odyssey7Q - Major Announcement - Convergent Design
Jason Bagherian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2013, 02:42 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: Odyssey7Q

Yes it is possible. The F3 has to be set to 60i and then you take the A and B outputs as dual link SDI to the 7Q.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2013, 03:40 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 279
Re: Odyssey7Q

Thanks Alister
What is the difference between the Gemini and the odyssey q7 for the Sony f3 then?
Rudy Wilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2013, 04:26 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: Odyssey7Q

There is no compressed option on the Gemini, only uncompressed which is a shame, the Gemini is a great device otherwise. The Odyssey will be able to record compressed and uncompressed.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2013, 09:00 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: florida
Posts: 279
Re: Odyssey7Q

Thanks Alister my new investment will be Odyssey7Q
Rudy Wilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 11:24 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Drachten, Netherlands
Posts: 179
Re: Odyssey7Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alister Chapman View Post
Yes it is possible. The F3 has to be set to 60i and then you take the A and B outputs as dual link SDI to the 7Q.
wil you get full frames every 1/60th of a second, so all lines?
Ron Aerts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 03:19 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nieuw-Vossemeer, The Netherlands
Posts: 451
Re: Odyssey7Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alister Chapman View Post
There is no compressed option on the Gemini, only uncompressed which is a shame, the Gemini is a great device otherwise. The Odyssey will be able to record compressed and uncompressed.
They announced DNxHD on the Gemini in February 2012, to be deliverd in the 3rd quarter of last year. So I suppose they should actually deliver that as well....(?)
__________________
Cees van Kempen
www.iwp-wildlife.com
Cees van Kempen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 09:21 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hobe Sound, Florida
Posts: 213
Re: Odyssey7Q

Same question here.
Dennis Dillon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 10:01 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
Re: Odyssey7Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alister Chapman View Post
There is no compressed option on the Gemini, only uncompressed which is a shame, the Gemini is a great device otherwise. The Odyssey will be able to record compressed and uncompressed.
Hi Alister,

I thought C-D announced at some point within the past six months (or so) that they would be releasing a firmware update to the Gemini giving it DNxHD encoding capability. My assumption is this would occur sometime shortly after the DNxHD coding is done and through testing on the Odyssey.
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2013, 10:05 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 975
Re: Odyssey7Q

One follow up question on the 1080p60 capability on the F3... To get S & Q 1080p60, I presume you would need to have the RGB 444 upgrade. Is this the case?
Andrew Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2013, 04:20 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
Re: Odyssey7Q

S&Q 60fps on the F3 is only 720p.

The only way to get 1080p60 is by setting the camera to 30i and then taking both of the A/B dual link outputs which will give you 60p dual link (2x 1.5G) The monitor and HDMI outputs remain at 30i. You do not need the dual link or RGB option for this, all versions of the F3 do this.

I don't know what happened to DNxHD on the Gemini.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2013, 09:25 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 469
Re: Odyssey7Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy Wilms View Post
Thanks Alister my new investment will be Odyssey7Q
Unless you particularly want to be able to record uncompressed, or intend to use the 7Q with other specific cameras, you may want to consider saving yourself a fair bit of money and just opting for the Odyssey 7. It will offer the same compressed recording options as the 7Q, including 60p and 4:4:4 eventually (i.e. the highest output the F3 is capable of), and if you're not intending to update your F3 any time soon - I think the likelihood of NEEDING an external recorder is going to be far less of an issue with the next generation of high-end digital cinema cameras (they're a lot more likely to have high-quality internal recording options).
Mark Kenfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2013, 04:08 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Re: Odyssey7Q

For Odyssey 7Q FS700 Raw Option, does the camera only need the v.3 firmware or does it also need the HXR-IFR5 adapter?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2013, 12:59 AM   #15
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Re: Odyssey7Q

According to CD you only need the firmware upgrade - no additional hardware.
check out their to do list

Odyssey7Q | Sony FS700 Raw Option
John Mitchell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network