7Q Current Capabilties? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 1st, 2014, 02:21 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 137
7Q Current Capabilties?

Maybe this is late since I already ordered the 7Q, but I'm wondering about it's current capability.

As of NOW, can the 7Q:

1 - DISPLAY 720?
2 - DISPLAY 4 inputs as a quad split?
3 - SWITCH display between quad split and each individual SDI input
__________________
Brian Young - Los Angeles - www.FlacaProductions.com
F800, F5, FS7, A7s
Brian T. Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2014, 07:14 PM   #2
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

This is from Dan Keaton,

I emailed your questions, this is his reply, below your questions:

As of NOW, can the 7Q:

1 - DISPLAY 720?

No, not at this time, this is planned for a future firmware update, in compressed mode.

2 - DISPLAY 4 inputs as a quad split?

Yes, Quad Split Monitoring is available, for HD right now.

3 - SWITCH display between quad split and each individual SDI input

Yes, but we switch between the each individual SDI inputs, at this time, in sequential manner, A then B, then C, then D.

I hope we improve this soon so one can select A, B, C or D Directly.
__________________
Olof Ekbergh olof@WestsideAV.com
Westside A V Studios http://www.WestsideAVstore.com/
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2014, 11:15 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 137
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

Thanks, Olof.
__________________
Brian Young - Los Angeles - www.FlacaProductions.com
F800, F5, FS7, A7s
Brian T. Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2014, 09:40 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Prunedale California
Posts: 108
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

Which codec are currently included?
Which will be added with firmware?
Which can be added at extra cost now?
Which will be added at extra cost?
Is 1080P 60 included now?
Is 2k and 4k included now in the base price?
Are those extra cost items?
If so, are they available now?

Where can we get "Hands On" before we buy?
I do not like sending things back.
Roger Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2014, 08:36 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger Martin View Post

1. Which codec are currently included?
2. Which will be added with firmware?
3. Which can be added at extra cost now?
4. Which will be added at extra cost?
5. Is 1080P 60 included now?
6. Is 2k and 4k included now in the base price?
7. Are those extra cost items?
8. If so, are they available now?

9. Where can we get "Hands On" before we buy?
I do not like sending things back.
Dear Roger,

I numbered your questions. Here are my answers.

1. The Odyssey7Q comes with the ability to record full uncompressed, HD, in DPX mode, an industry standard for recording full uncompressed files, which are the ultimate in quality for HD.

One can record HD (1920 x 1080) up to 1080p60 in this mode.

We accept 4:2:2 and 4:4:4 sources in either single link or dual link.

We support HD-SDI 3G sources.

Near the end of this month, February 2014, we expect to release a free firmware update that allows HD to be recorded in a popular compressed codec, at 220 Mbps. This will support 1080p up to 30 frames per second.

Later we will increase this to 1080p60 or higher.

Also, later we will add additional flavors of this popular codec, including the ability to record HD, in 4:4:4 RGB mode.

2. All features will be added via firmware updates. We know of no planned features, at this time, that will require a hardware update.

But, the Odyssey7Q HDMI input and output are currently limited, by hardware, to up to 1080p30.

Thus, we cannot add HDMI input at 1080p60 or output 1080p60 or 4K.

3. and 4. By purchasing extra cost options, the functionality of the Odyssey7Q can be enhanced.

All Raw and 4K Modes, for specific cameras are extra cost options.

And the ability to record multiple HD Video streams are also extra cost options.

Sony FS700 Option adds the ability to record 2K Raw, up to 240 fps, to CinemaDNG. $795 US

This option is available now, and later we will enhance this option:

And later we will record 4K Raw, if we obtain permission from Sony.
And later we will record 4K to a popular compressed codec.
And near the end of this month, we will take 4K Raw from the FS700, in 12-Bit, deBayer it, encode it to S-Log 2, then record in in HD to a compressed codec at 220 Mbps.

Canon 4K Raw Option.

This option is available now and records 4K Raw, up to 60 fps. $1495 US

And near the end of this month, we will add additional support for the Canon C500, including 120 fps recording in full uncompressed, in DPX mode. Other support will be added also.

ARRI ALEXA ARRIRAW Option

This option is available now and records ARRIRAW, in 16:9 up to 60 fps and in 4:3, up to 48 fps, which are the limits of the camera in ARRIRAW Mode, recording to an external device. $1,995 US

Other options will be available in the future.

One will be our Multi-Stream Option which will allow recording of multiple HD video streams, up to 1080p30 each.

Our Multi-Stream Viewing feature is built-in, which allows quad-split or individual viewing of up to four video sources. This is for monitoring only, not recording. One does not need to purchase an extra cost option to use this feature.

5. Yes, 1080p60 can be recorded in the Odyssey7Q, base unit, no extra cost option required, now.

6. Is 2k and 4k included now in the base price?

No.

7. Are those extra cost items?

Yes.

8. If so, are they available now?.

Yes. While 4K for the Canon C500 is available now, 4K for the Sony FS700 is not available yet,

If Sony provides permission for us to record 4K Raw, then this can be available as soon as near the end of this month.

We will add 4K to a compressed codec after February, sometime in Q1, 2014. This will require the Sony FS700 Extra Cost Option.

9. We have many dealers in California.

If you have a local dealer and they do not sell our products or do not have a unit to show you, please have them contact me.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2014, 02:23 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Djakovo, Croatia
Posts: 8
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

In the specs of Odyssey it is written:
"HDMI Video I/O HDMI I/O Version 1.4a support, Up to 1080p60 422 8-bit" .

In this post:
"But, the Odyssey7Q HDMI input and output are currently limited, by hardware, to up to 1080p30.

Thus, we cannot add HDMI input at 1080p60 or output 1080p60 or 4K."


So is it 1080p30 or 1080p60 ?
Best regards
Geza
Geza Nagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2014, 02:32 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 37
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

I 2nd the query :) would like to know before needing it and working around it. Winter sports stuff I shoot in 50/60 sometimes on a camera that's hdmi only
Kieran Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2014, 08:01 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

Dear Friends,

The Odyssey7Q supports HDMI input and output, in 1080p, up to 1080p30.

No 1080p60 or 4K over HDMI, sorry.

But, HDMI can be converted to HD-SDI.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2014, 12:35 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Djakovo, Croatia
Posts: 8
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

There are lot of DSLR cameras with 1080p60 or 1080p50 recording possibilities (e.g. Sony A7, A7R,
A6000-all clean HDMI output). Will it be possible to monitor HDMI out on these cameras with the Odyssey 7 (not 7Q) when in 1080p50 mode (of course without a converter HDMI - HD-SDI)?
Thanks
Geza Nagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2014, 12:51 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

Dear Geza,

I am sorry, but we do not think this will be possible when we start shipping the Odyssey7.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2014, 04:32 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Djakovo, Croatia
Posts: 8
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

Will it be possible to use Odyssey 7 as a monitor with DSLR cameras making still pictures (not videos). Do not know what kind of signal is coming out through HDMI port when taking still pictures...(Sony A7R)
I mean tools like focus peaking etc.
Thanks.
Geza Nagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2014, 08:33 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

Dear Geza,

I would like others with experience with your camera to share their experience.

My answer:

If the camera outputs a live HDMI output, in 1080p, up to 1080p30, then the Odyssey7 should allow you to compose your still image on our unit, and you should be able to use any of our features.

I hope others will add their comments.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2014, 09:35 AM   #13
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 868
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geza Nagy View Post
Will it be possible to use Odyssey 7 as a monitor with DSLR cameras making still pictures (not videos). Do not know what kind of signal is coming out through HDMI port when taking still pictures...(Sony A7R)
I mean tools like focus peaking etc.
Thanks.
Not to get to off topic but wouldn't that kind of defeat the rason d'etre of the A7R - that is its compact size compare to a normal FF DSLR? Addding a monitor that weighs as much as the camera and s bigger than it?

FWIW if you can add overlays to the HDMI output should work..
John Mitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2014, 11:30 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Djakovo, Croatia
Posts: 8
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

Thank you for your help. It doesnt need to be Sony A7R. Any DSLR live HDMI output could be e.g. 720 (when taking still pictures) and in this case I am not able to use Odyssey. I cannot find any information what signal is coming out through the HDMI port when taking still pictures...Thanks.
Geza Nagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2014, 12:49 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Djakovo, Croatia
Posts: 8
Re: 7Q Current Capabilties?

I found out that my DSLRs HDMI signal out in "auto" mode is 720 but can be switched to 1080, so no problem using Odyssey. Same in movie and in still mode. Thanks.
Geza Nagy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network