2K ProRez...?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 3rd, 2014, 10:48 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 15
2K ProRez...??

I finally had a chance to sit down this weekend with the new firmware release but I couldn't seem to find the 2K ProRez option...am I missing something? The release notes say it is an option...I found everything else, but not the 2K.

When I select the recording options I see the following:

HD 4:2:2: > HD PRORES
FS 4K RAW > HDPRORES
FS 4K RAW > UHD PRORES
FS 4K/2K RAW > RAW .DNG
HD 4:2:2/4:4:4 > 4:4:4 .DPX

Is the 2K/PRORES option hidden somewhere?

BTW...nice work on the release! Looking forward to putting the 7Q through it's paces this week.
Robert Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2014, 01:27 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Estonia
Posts: 113
Re: 2K ProRez...??

first choice is 2k prores.
regards
Raul Rooma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2014, 06:59 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 15
Re: 2K ProRez...??

What first choice? I'm looking at the 7q w/ 3.10 firmware and the first choice I see is...

HD 4:2:2: > HD PRORES

I see five recording selections in total and non are 2K Prores...where is the option...anybody?
Robert Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2014, 01:43 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: 2K ProRez...??

Dear Robert,

Which camera do you want to use, to record 2K Apple ProRes 422 HQ?

In the Odyssey7Q menu, first select the camera or camera manufacturer, then you will see a list of options (recording modes).

We support recording 2K Apple ProRes 422 HQ from certain cameras at this time.

For immediate support, 24/7 you can call me at:

seven one nine --- nine three zero --- one three seven six

At this time, we have not found a way, with our Sony F55, to output 2K. We are researching this issue.

We support the C500 in 2K mode.

We do not support the FS700, outputting 2K Raw, converting this to 2K Apple ProRes 422 HQ at this time.

Please feel free to call me.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2014, 02:41 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 15
Re: 2K ProRez...??

Hey Dan,

I'm using the FS700 and I have purchased the FS700 option for the 7Q...

"We do not support the FS700, outputting 2K Raw, converting this to 2K Apple ProRes 422 HQ at this time."

Based on your reply above, It sounds as though I should be seeing an option to record 2k to Prores with the FS700 but I don't...?
Robert Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2014, 03:54 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: 2K ProRez...??

Dear Robert,

The key words are highlighted below:

"We do not support the FS700, outputting 2K Raw, converting this to 2K Apple ProRes 422 HQ at this time."

We support recording Ultra-HD/Quad HD (3840 x 2160) to Ultra-HD Apple ProRes 422 HD, from the FS700 at this time, up to 30 frames per second.

We have not implemented record 2K Apple ProRes 422 HQ from the FS700.

We do support the FS700, with it being in 4K Raw Mode, up to 60 frames per second, recording HD Apple ProRes 422 HQ.

Thus this is 1920 x 1080, instead of 2048 x 1080.

I hope this helps.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2014, 04:57 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 15
Re: 2K ProRez...??

Copy that...I guess reading comprehension is not my strong suit. Sigh...
Robert Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2014, 06:58 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: 2K ProRez...??

Dear Robert,

No problem at all.

I hope you did not think that I was yelling at you, since I put part of the sentence in bold.

We feel that the 4K Raw image quality out of the FS700 is better than the 2K Raw image quality, thus we supported the 4K Raw to 4K Apple ProRes 422 HQ first.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2014, 09:51 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 15
Re: 2K ProRez...??

Hey Dan,

No worries, just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something and if in fact 2k > Prores did live in the 7q
I wanted to also take that for a test spin...
Robert Thompson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network