Odyssey 7Q Audio and Blackmagic Media Express at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 2nd, 2015, 10:43 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. James New York
Posts: 27
Odyssey 7Q Audio and Blackmagic Media Express

Blackmagic Media express plays Odyssey 7Q 4K prores 422 footage beautifully but there's no audio. It appears that 7Q 4 Kprores video 422 records 32 bit audio. If I convert the footage to 4K prores 422 with 24 bit audio then the sound plays well. Is there any way to record 24bit audio with the Odyssey 7Q so that the conversion and the recompression can be skipped. Thank you.
Bill LiPera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2015, 10:36 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,408
Re: Odyssey 7Q Audio and Blackmagic Media Express

Dear Bill,

I am alerting our team about this.

We will attempt to duplicate this in our lab.

I will provide more information after I discuss this with our team.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2015, 12:34 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,408
Re: Odyssey 7Q Audio and Blackmagic Media Express

Dear Bill,

I received word back from our Lab Manager.

"This is most likely a setting with Media Express, as we use this for testing with Apple Certification"

Are you using a Mac or a PC?

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2015, 04:02 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. James New York
Posts: 27
Re: Odyssey 7Q Audio and Blackmagic Media Express

Thanks for the response I'm using a pc . I can't seem to find that setting in Media Express. Thank you
Bill LiPera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2015, 06:29 AM   #5
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
Re: Odyssey 7Q Audio and Blackmagic Media Express

On Macs the settings are in System Prefs/Desktop Video. There are many audio/video settings there, depending on your hardware.
__________________
Olof Ekbergh olof@WestsideAV.com
Westside A V Studios http://www.WestsideAVstore.com/
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2016, 02:43 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,952
Re: Odyssey 7Q Audio and Blackmagic Media Express

Just bumping this thread, can someone give me the output of a "ffmpeg -i (input file).mov" of a file like this? and can this be remedied with a simple command like this?

Code:
ffmpeg -i "(input file).mov" -c:v copy -c:a pcm_s24le "(output file).mov"
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2016, 04:39 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,408
Re: Odyssey 7Q Audio and Blackmagic Media Express

Dear Jack,

I am sorry, but I do not have an answer for you.

I will check with our team.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2016, 07:31 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,952
Re: Odyssey 7Q Audio and Blackmagic Media Express

Hey Bill,

I just tried out converting the audio using an FFmpeg command and I can tell you it works in Media Express on machines with Quicktime installed. (Protip: Media Express will not read ProRes files on Windows unless Quicktime is installed. You can use the "for NLEs" installation method and not install the player.)

Here's the command you have to enter in ffmpeg:

Code:
ffmpeg -guess_layout_max 0 -i "(path to input file, ending in .mov)" -r (Frame rate from the clip's XML file in the same folder as your source clips. Round up non-drop frame rates to whole numbers, AKA don't include decimal points.) -c:v copy -c:a pcm_s24le "(path to output file, ending in .mov)"
Hope this helps.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network