HDLink Pro Displayport 3D and Stereo 3D Toolbox?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery > Dashwood Cinema Solutions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 6th, 2010, 04:05 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 480
HDLink Pro Displayport 3D and Stereo 3D Toolbox??

I guess this is a message to Tim Dashwood.

How or will this BlackMagic Designs Blackmagic Design: HDLink Specs converter work with a Stereo 3D Toolbox output(s)? I am using a BlackMagic PCIE Decklink to output side/side and anaglyph over HDMI to a non-3D HDTV monitor now, so with the addition of a 3D monitor will the outputs from FCP/Stereo 3D Toolbox work running through this B-M converter? If so, which modes?

Also, I noticed talking to you at NAB that you were supporting more 3D HDTV's and computer monitors. Can you list those here, and do you need the NVidia 3D cards for computer display?
Bruce Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2010, 02:38 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
We don't know much about the new Blackmagic products because they haven't shipped yet and we don't have them.

There were two "3D" products announced by Blackmagic-Design at NAB: Decklink HD Extreme 3D and the HDLink Pro 3D Displayport.

In the Blackmagic booth at NAB they had the Decklink HD Extreme 3D card playing back two HD-SDI streams from Media Express (on Windows I think) and feeding the HDLink Pro 3D Displayport connected to a 3D display.

We have a few ideas on how to implement these new products into a 3D workflow, but the details on ingest and playback are sketchy from BD's website right now.

I can tell you that I will definitely be buying a few HDLink 3D Displayport boxes with $30 Displayport to HDMI adapters. That's $525 each versus Stereobrain's $6000.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2010, 11:13 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 480
Thanks Tim, that's pretty much what I was thinking. If the B-M 3D Displayport replicates the Inition Stereobrain box then that's a very cost effective solution to 3D monitoring.
Bruce Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 12:19 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 62
From BMD's specs page it look like HD Link Pro 3D Displayport only does 48-75 hz.. Does that mean it can't make full use of 3d-ready 120hz monitors?
It also is lacking a sync output and therefore may not prove useful for those with active shutter glasses.\Just a couple thoughts.
-Robert
Robert Kennedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2010, 07:46 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Hi,

HDLink Pro 3D will support the new HDMI 1.4 monitors and deliver a frame packed HDMI 1.4 signal. We're not finished with the firmware yet but we're getting there :)
__________________
Blackmagic Design
Kristian Lam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2010, 09:44 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 697
Sounds fantastic! I am looking forward to when this is a reality. Please keep us informed.
Steve Shovlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 07:24 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Sabi Sands Game Reserve, South Africa
Posts: 1
If anyone is going to look at BlackMagic HDLink Pro 3D for 3d monitoring purposes, please bear in mind that it cannot take two separate HD-SDI feeds and mux them together, it requires a muxed input (either full-frame side-by-side via two cables (dual-link HD-SDI) or squeezed half-frame. So essentially HDLink Pro is a glorifed HD-SDI to DisplayPort/HDMI converter and audio de-embedder. We actually bought one and messed with it for a while before realising our mistake.

This has been my experience. If this is wrong, however, I stand to be corrected.
Alexander Voz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 07:54 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Actually it does take two HD-SDI and mux them together and output a HD-SDI and Displayport in line by line, frame-packed or side-by-side output. I don't think they are shipping yet.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 07:59 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexander Voz View Post
If anyone is going to look at BlackMagic HDLink Pro 3D for 3d monitoring purposes, please bear in mind that it cannot take two separate HD-SDI feeds and mux them together, it requires a muxed input (either full-frame side-by-side via two cables (dual-link HD-SDI) or squeezed half-frame. So essentially HDLink Pro is a glorifed HD-SDI to DisplayPort/HDMI converter and audio de-embedder. We actually bought one and messed with it for a while before realising our mistake.

This has been my experience. If this is wrong, however, I stand to be corrected.
If you have the HDLink Pro DisplayPort model, you'll need a firmware update to get the 3D capability. We're not finished with the firmware yet but should be ready in the next 1-2 weeks. If you want to try something, contact me directly and I can send you a download link.
__________________
Blackmagic Design
Kristian Lam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 02:12 AM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
I'm happy to report that I just updated my HDLink DisplayPort to version3.4 (downloadable from the Blackmagic Design website) and I now have 3D modes! I just tested it on side by side and over/under.
Attached Thumbnails
HDLink Pro Displayport 3D and Stereo 3D Toolbox??-hdlink-interface.png  
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 04:17 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Dorset UK
Posts: 697
OK having visited the BMD website to say I am confused is an understatement. They certainly don't write their information for the layman. Great for folks that understand all this but for someone reasonably new to this side of the business it goes quite a way above my head. I am sure BMD lose sales because they don't have a simple description of what it actually does and that frightens people away because they don't want to order something that is no use to them.

So what does it do in clear simple terms?

If I use Tim's software, then save the 3D file, (not sure in what codec) can I play it out through this BMD 3D box to watch it on my Sony 3D TV? My PC or Mac doesn't have SDI out, so know what? How do I get the footage from the Mac or PC into the box to come out again via HDMI? Do I have to buy a card with SDI out to fit in the PC/Mac?

Or do I need this at all to show 3D on my Sony 3D TV direct from my PC/Mac to clients? I want to show the best quality on the 3DTV.

So I am confused. Have I made this more complicated than I should?
Thanks
Steve
Steve Shovlar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2010, 09:21 PM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
The 3D features on this box can be used in a few different ways.

1. Mux two camera inputs into a single stream 3D format for digitizing via HD-SDI (with a capture card)

2. Mux two camera inputs into a single stream 3D format for monitoring on a 3D monitor that accepts HD-SDI side by side, top/bottom or line by line or HDMI 1.4a (coming soon.)

3. Both 1 & 2 simultaneously

4. Mux two i/o card outputs (i.e. Extreme 3D) into a 3D format for monitoring.

I am field testing it tomorrow on a concert shoot with a dual EX3 beamsplitter and a couple Panasonic cams. It definitely doesn't run anywhere near as hot as the Stereobrain in my studio tests.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2010, 05:30 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 11
HDMI to Panasonic Plasma 3D TV

Tim,

Thanks for sharing all this info with us.

When you say that the HDMI 1.4 side by side output is soon to be working, does that mean that right now you can't plug two cameras in HD-SDI into the unit and have a live feed going to let's say a Panasonic Plasma 3D TV? I thought that this option was already activated in the latest firmware?

Arnaud
Arnaud Paris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2010, 07:40 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Hi,

It will work with the Panasonic TV as long as it supports the side by side option via HDMI 1.3 which is half the resolution of each eye.

HDMI 1.4 sends out a frame packed signal which is the full resolution of each eye. This feature will be available in a driver update for HDLink Pro 3D.
__________________
Blackmagic Design
Kristian Lam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2010, 09:45 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 352
The frame packed material will be used by Blu-ray. It is too much for broadcast to deal with. They will be using squeezed side-by-side and above-below, so the 3D TV's will support those input methods as well. To my experience they also have manual menus to select the input mode. I have been able to play regular 2D BD's with sbs and a/b 3D on them created by Tim's Stereo3D Toolbox and burned with Toast and watch them in 3D on several different manufacturer's LCD sets, and with the Mitsubishi 3DC-1000 on the DLPs, so I would be very surprised if the HD Link Pro 3D didn't work on just about any major manufacturer's 3DTV set.

Don't need MVC, HDMI 1.4 or 3D player (which will buy full res on both L/R frames) for sbs and a/u 3D streams. HDMI 1.4 and MVC compression is used by "real" 3D BD's that are made of unobtainium at the moment, with the exception of couple of demo's. That is where Adam helped me little while back.

Last edited by Pavel Houda; July 21st, 2010 at 01:41 PM.
Pavel Houda is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery > Dashwood Cinema Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network