Stereo3D Toolbox 3840x1080 SbS at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery > Dashwood Cinema Solutions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 22nd, 2010, 07:09 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 352
Stereo3D Toolbox 3840x1080 SbS

Tim, is there a way to get unsqueezed 3840x1080 or 2560x720 as a possible output from Stereo3D Toolbox? I would like to try the 4k resolution on YouTube.
Pavel Houda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 07:56 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
There is a way by creating a sequence in that size and using a png or jpeg at that size as slug to hold the plugin. Then just uncheck the "2:1 Squeezed" option.

However, it is an impractical thing to ask FCP to render since it can only access 2GB of RAM and a single processor. Even though in the latest Pro Applications update "several memory fragmentation issues have been resolved" it would still take forever to render and probably give you an out of memory error after 10 minutes.

There is a much easier process. Instead render out separate left and right quicktimes. Then use Quicktime 7 (if not in your Applications folder it can be installed from optional installs on Snow Leopard DVD) and run the attached script to instantly create an unsqueezed 3840x1080 side by side.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Side by Side 3840 muxer.app.zip (31.2 KB, 202 views)
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 09:29 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 352
That is perfect. Thank you very much Tim. - I need a better Mac. Right now each second of each side takes literarily one minute to render, so 2 minutes per second of rendering already edited sequence ....

Last edited by Pavel Houda; September 24th, 2010 at 01:30 AM.
Pavel Houda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 03:52 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 352
Tim, anyone, I can combine the QT files. Can you suggest about how I can convert the resultant aic file into h.264, or other format that is acceptable by YouTube?
Pavel Houda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 04:20 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Just drop into Compressor and use one of the H264 encoder presets that maintains original size.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 11:12 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 352
Thank you Tim. Unfortunately, I only have the FCE, not FCS, so no Compressor. I just figured out that I might be able to do it with Streamclip and Toast though. Couple of the clips are on YouTube and I am pretty happy what the higher resolution brings. The clip at the URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-FlZpJlasc can be interesting, because I can see as many as 5 properly 3d, squeezed frames. I placed the raw clip of the Okinawan dancer at URL: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_HELnC_RNo . Finally I did a quick clip at the ends using YouTube "Editor". I was interested in what type of quality degradation it might cause. That clip is at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IYExfUZfX8o . If you are interested, take a peak. The difference in quality due to the higher resolution is pretty big. Unfortunately, to view it you'll need at least i7 machine and a fast down spout. Best is to pause and let the machine buffer the clip first.

Last edited by Pavel Houda; September 25th, 2010 at 01:08 PM.
Pavel Houda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2010, 09:16 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreuil France
Posts: 1
3840x 1080 and 3D stereo toolbox rendering

Hello tim
I made first a two layers 3840x 1080 50p sequence each layer using a 1920x 1080 50P clip, created a side by side using offset of -960 and 960 for each 1920x1080 left and right eyes respectively.
I nested this sequence in a new sequence then applied clip coupler filter with sxs input (in fact now I realised I could maybe avoid this step using directly geometry filter with an sxs input) then applied geometry filter, and get the error message "3D stereotoolbox filter rendering felt.Your computer hardware is not able to render such a large and deep video"
I read the thread but I don't realy understand the way you describe to render such a 3840x 1080 sbs tuned with 3D stereo toolbox in fcp.
thanks
Alain Youcef-Khoudja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2010, 01:18 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 3,637
Hi Alain,

Your system is giving you the error message because it can't handle rendering a frame size that big.
As I mentioned above it is impractical to ask FCP to access that much RAM for more than a few frames at a time.

Instead render as separate left and right quicktimes and use the utility I attached above to instantly create a 3840x1080 quicktime.
__________________
Tim Dashwood
Tim Dashwood is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Special Interest Areas > 3D Stereoscopic Production & Delivery > Dashwood Cinema Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network