After Effects CS3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 2nd, 2007, 04:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 116
After Effects CS3

Hello:
I recently purchased Creative Studio 3, Intel/Mac version, and installed same. Since that time, the Adobe updater has been attempting to download the Open GL update (8.0.1) for AE but has been unsuccessful. The download tends to begin in a normal fashion and then, about 20 or so MB's into the download, the process will abort and is replaced by a message that says "... the download was unsuccessful. The file that you are attempting to download has changed on the server." Several calls to Adobe tech support did not resolve the problem and in fact, on one occasion I was told that the file does not exist or does not exit yet. A search of the Adobe website did not reveal the file in question thereby ruling the possibility of a manual download. Oddly enough, a review of several forums seems to indicate that others have successfully obtained said update. I wonder if anyone else has run into a similar problem with the Intel/Mac version of the software?
Ronald Wilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2007, 05:47 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Twinsburg, Ohio
Posts: 46
Mine updated fine - no problems at all. Is there an ftp site that you can go to that would have an executable version of the update?
William W. Holcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 11:57 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 116
Ae Cs3

Hello:

Thank you for your reply.
I have been in contact with Adobe and, unfortunately, at the present time there is no FTP available for that update. They did make several suggestions, however, none of which were effective in allowing me to obtain the file. Since I doubt that I am the first person to experience this sort of mishap, it would behoove Adobe to allow for an alternative download method. My communication with Adobe, although quite cordial, left me with the impression that if their suggestions did not work that I was SOL ... a very sorry corollary for an expensive piece of software. Without Open GL capability, AE's reduced functionality makes it less desirable. Fortunately, I am not left in the cold and have and use both Boris Red 4.1 and Shake 4.1 and will clearly continue to do so.
Best regards.
Ronald Wilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2007, 04:34 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: El Paso
Posts: 35
I just received and installed Production Premium CS3 yesterday and after updating the entire suite, I continue to get the message that AE needs to be updated. When I select to go ahead and update it, the update loads and appears to install, but the next time I run the "check for updates" it still says AE needs the update.

That said, if I look at the splash screen on startup or in the about menu of AE, it shows it is version 8.0.1. So, what I think (of course, I could be wrong) is that AE is updated, but for some reason the Adobe updater doesn't recognize it.
Jim Day is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 07:03 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Marin & Davis, CA, USA
Posts: 418
I'd suggest taking your computer to another internet connection and seeing it if works there.
That's the only real chance at this point, it seems.

Or call them and say you lost your CD. The update would be included now, would it not?

Or, really, just download the free trial of CS3, then use your serial number.
Daniel Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 12:35 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 116
After Effects and Cs3

Well, I have not had any success in my communication with Adobe regarding the the open GL update for After Effects CS3 and the original download problem persists. I am rather disappointed with Adobe and the nonchalant way they deal with issues of this nature, particularly, with respect to a costly piece of software such as the Premiere Production bundle. So, I have decided to fill my effects requirements elsewhere, namely, Shake 4.1 for compositing and Boris Red 4.1.5 for compositing and effects along with a few other useful plugins, including Motion 3.

Thank you all for the insightful suggestions.
Ronald Wilk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2007, 05:44 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: El Paso
Posts: 35
I don't think that using a different internet connection would make any difference since the updates for ALL other programs of the CS3 Production Premium upgrade just fine. It is just the update of After Effects that continues to say it needs that update.

Again, like I mentioned above, even though it tells me the update was not successful, if I go to the "About After Effects" it shows the latest version.
Jim Day is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network